Prison takes back Division 1 lead

After a mere week of sharing the
position in Division 1, Prison CC has reasserted its dominance.

Prison defeated former co-leaders
By Rite at the Jimmy Powell. Prison restricted By Rite to 162 for eight
wickets. By Rite had solid contributions from Sylvester Suberan with 39 and
Adrian Wright with 34. However the usual By Rite middle order drive was
contained by a well marshalled Prison bowling attack, in which Captain Saheed
Mohamed took four wickets.

During their turn at bat, Prison
had good contributions from their top five with Steve Gordon on 36 and Gerard
Christian on 35 leading the way. Mohamed continued his brilliant form with 22
not out, helping Prison to a six wicket victory.

At the Smith Road Oval ESSO Tigers
won over LIME Schools. With excellent all round performances, ESSO Tigers
limited LIME Schools to 133 for nine wickets and achieve victory for the loss
of five wickets.

In Division 2, Cayman Brac came
over to Grand Cayman and had a bitter sweet two matches. At Jimmy Powell Oval,
Cayman Brac lead by Sahadeo Sohan on 62 not out and Steve Coates on 40 fought
2009 champions ESSO Cubs all the way. Needing 170 to win Cayman Brac required
eight runs from the last over but was only able to achieve score seven runs thus
tying the match. On day two, Cayman Brac met the might of JJ’s. Lead by a
masterful display of powerful strokes from Garth Bryan on 106 not out and
Kerniel Coley on 61, JJ’s scored 323 for nine. Cayman Brac replied strongly
with Donald McKay scoring 89 and Sahadeo Sohan with 33 but fell short by 90
runs. In the third Division 2 match, Aims Consultants easily defeated Oneness
by seven wickets.

This coming weekend will see the
start of the women’s cricket league. Four teams, Stingrays, Panthers, Greenies
and Motown, will compete in the league. The first game is set to take place at
the John A. Cumber school ground at 1pm on Sunday 7 March.



162 for 8

Suberan 39, Adrian Wright 34

Saheed Mohamed 4
for 44

163 for 4

Steve Gordon 36,
Gerard Christian 35, Saheed Mohamed 22n.o, Charles Greaves 17n.o

by 6 wickets

LIME Schools
– 133 for 9

Marc Chin 32,
Sacha De Alvis 25, Kervin Ebanks 22n.o

Clevon Sailsman
2 for 21

ESSO Tigers –
138 for 5

McIntoch 41, Alistair Ifill 24

Ricardo Roach 3
for 29

ESSO Tigers
won by 5 wickets


ESSO Cubs 169

Ricardo Roach
40, Wayne Cato 25

Sahadeo Sohan 3
for 23, Steve Coates 2 for 33

Cayman Brac –
169 for 7

Sahadeo Sohan
62n.o, Steve Coates 40, Donald McKoy 30

Omar Willis 3
for 24, Kervin Ebanks 2 for 34

Match Tied.

JJ’s – 323
for 9

Garth Bryan
106n.o, Kerniel Coley 61, Tristan Campbell 41

Steve Coates 3
for 61, Walton Gooding 3 for 62, Rhojel Gayle 2 for 44

Cayman Brac –

Donald McKoy 89,
Sahadeo Sohan 33, Rhojel Gayle 23

Franklin Hinds
jnr 2 for 27, Devon Williams 2 for 29, Garth Bryan 2 for 49

JJ”S won by
90 runs


George Johnson 5
for 19, George Hudson 2 for 26

Consultants – 89 for 3

Chris Williams

Consultants won by 7 wickets



Sat Mar 06       UCCI/West Bay vs Welly’s/Cayman Doors –
SRO – 12pm

                        ONESNESS vs JJ’s – JPO –


Sun Mar 07      GREENIES 1 vs POLICE – SRO – 11am

                        BY RITE vs LIME Schools
– JPO – 11am


Sun Mar 07      STINGRAYS vs MOTOWN – JAC – 1pm