Ebanks cruises as Starlet kicks in

An impressive nineteen racers demonstrated their
abilities at the most recent Valvoline and Parker’s Time Attack event.

Two Sundays ago the ‘dexterity’ races attacked the
twists and turns of the Progressive Loop behind CUC.

Cayman Motorsports Association continued its
Valvoline &Parkers Time Attack series with nine runs for each driver,
enabling them to drop the two worst times.

The races began earlier than usual, at 9:30am, to
facilitate the large number of runs and were enjoyed by many spectators who got
a chance to see all aspects of the races.

The field was split for a second time in two groups
with ten racers running five rounds first and the second set of nine racers
running the five rounds last. After a lunch break the final four races were completed
by both groups.

The unlimited class was stacked with talent: Bobby
Hulse, the association President, in his Toyota
“Ching Ching” Altezza, boasted a new brake setup this time around while Keith
Tibbetts III in the Valvoline STi offered a new edge on the opposition with a
new suspension. Rounding out the field was the venerable Andy Bodden and Wayne
Kirkonnell in the Automotive Art Mirage.

The new class of Two Wheel Drive was stacked with
some serious competition. Jerad Ebanks in his Turbo Starlet placed third, Ajoni
Ambersley placed second in his Nissan Primera and Josen Ebanks placed first in
the Starlet he shared with brother Jerad in a combined total time of 611.068
seconds. Josen and Jerad recently made some changes with the car’s gearbox to
which Jerad said “finally the car is showing its potential, I’m really pleased
with how it feels.”

The All Wheel Drive class also had very stiff
competition with seven racers. Roje Williams was originally meant for 2WD with
the VW Golf, but was crippled after a water hose burst.

Roje placed third in the Ace Paint Subaru STi RA
which was shared among a number of racers. One of them was Andrew Jackson, normally
the head course official, who hung up his hat and raced to second place.

Both Williams and Jackson shared seat-time with
Michael Weatherford, who placed first in the same Subaru with an impressive
time of 601.008secs. Roje placed first in the Street Battle Run with a fastest
time of 82.435secs for his class.

With only four drivers in the Unlimited Class, each
one pushed his own car to the limits. Hulse placed third in his Altezza, Bodden
second in the Automotive Art Mirage and Keith “Speedy” Tibbetts III slipped
into first with a time of 571.761secs in his Impreza.

Keith also landed first in the Unlimited Battle Run
with a fastest time of 79.855secs in a single run.

Throughout the day times dropped significantly –
even newlywed Ian Charlery saw significant time drops. All racers and spectators
alike were satisfied with the race and are eagerly anticipating the next event
on Saturday 24 April.

The Association Board (President Bobby Hulse, Vice
President Wayne Kirkconnell, Secretary Keith Tibbetts III and Treasurer Ian
Tibbetts) thanked Parker’s and Valvoline for sponsoring this year’s Time Attack

For more information email the Board at [email protected]