Social league had the most drama

Another fascinating season of co-ed
softball is in the books. The Field of Dreams facility saw 14 weeks of action in
the 2010 Winter Adult Co-ed Softball League across three leagues and five divisions.

The regular season ended in week 12
with the standings showing a number of surprises. Attention turns first to the
A league, which for once had the most teams this season.

Island Taste Hot Stuff emerged as
the best team in all of co-ed softball with a 10-2 record. They finished just
ahead of Home Gas who were 9-3 in the A1 division. KM Ltd were a solid third at
6-6 and Jose’s Escape were a disappointing fourth at 4-8.

In the A2 division the Caybrew
Chuggers were on top at 8-4. The AL Thompson’s Hammers finished second at 6-5-1.
KPMG A was a solid third at 6-6, the Global Baers were a surprising fourth at
5-7 and the Master Batters were fifth at 2-8-2.

Over in the B League Triple Crown
were the B1 division winners at 9-3. The Maples Sluggers had a strong campaign
to place second at 7-5. In third was the Doghouse Glovernauts at 4-7-1 and in
fourth was Deloitte at 2-10.

The B2 division saw Walkers earn
all props at 9-3. KPMG Bounty Hunters had another great season at 7-5. PWC B
were third but sported a 3-9 record while Electratech Pure Energy were 0-12.

Finally in the C league (considered
social) rookie club the AL Thompson’s Drills were first at 9-3 while the Ritz
Carlton Grand Cayman Lions were second at 8-4. The PWC Scorpions finished third
at 4-8 but did break a losing streak that stretched over the last two years.

Last week’s league finals saw Home
Gas, PWC B and the Lions emerge as champions. Co-ed league co-ordinator Alan
Markoff expressed his sentiments on the season.

“It was a great season from start
to finish for all the teams. Congratulations to Home Gas, PWC B and the RCGC
Lions for winning their league championships.  Thanks to everyone for
their cooperation over the course of the season.

“The next season is scheduled to
begin in August.  Right now, the plan is to start on 9 August with a
captains meeting being held 2 August.”