Young leaders’ gala in May

Five people nominated to receive annual award

Family: Building the Foundation is
the theme of this year’s Young Caymanian Leadership Awards gala on Friday, 6
May, at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman.

In keeping with the theme, a video
will be shown that looks back at how the YCLA ‘family’ and supporting community
have grown since the awards were initiated in 2000.

The gala evening will also showcase
what family means to some of the YCLA alumni and how the award has impacted
their lives.

“YCLA truly embodies the statement
‘He who refreshes others will himself be refreshed’. Every YCLA [alumnus] is
someone who has been inspired and encouraged by people who gave selflessly to
make a positive difference in the lives of others; people who invested in the
future of Cayman – its youth,” said last year’s recipient, Collin Anglin.

Speaking on his experience of the
past year, Mr. Anglin said: “As a recipient, you are given the opportunity to
magnify the impact of your mission to inspire others to reach their full

“Better yet, as each year passes,
the spirit and support of the YCLA organisation expands even more to create an
everlasting effect on those who come in contact with it.”

During his year as the 2010 YCLA
recipient, Mr. Anglin delivered motivational speeches to all the public schools
and most of the private schools, often visiting them more than 50 times,
primarily to youths between the ages of five and 18.

“Collin’s dedication and overall
leadership has been inspiring and effective. We are taking that spirit and
working the values and attributes that he has been promoting into this year’s
programme,” Melissa Wolfe said on behalf of the Young Caymanian Leaders Foundation.

Since the inception of the YCLA
programme in 1999, the planning committee has worked with event partners
Television Centre, Celebrations and the Ritz-Carlton to produce an event and TV
show of the highest quality, Ms Wolfe said.

The annual awards show is televised
live on Cayman27 and has consistently filled the ballroom at the Ritz with
Cayman’s top business professionals and community leaders.

The gala evening and the weeks
leading up to it focus on the leadership and accomplishments of some of
Cayman’s young leaders and the inspiring examples they provide to the children
of the Islands.

This year’s event theme pays
tribute to the essential role of traditional family values and the importance
of inspirational early role models for young people.

The 60-minute live broadcast will
feature videos of the five finalists for 2011, who will be announced in the
coming weeks. Each finalist will be selected from nominations submitted by the
community several months ago.


Selection process

The YCLA honorary board relies
entirely on the public to submit nominations of young Caymanians for

The next step is the evaluation of
nominations by a subcommittee of the YCLA honorary board, which then submits
its selections of five finalists to the rest of the board.

The top five are notified and
scheduled to be interviewed on camera. Members of the honorary board, excluding
those with close ties to any of the finalists, watch the video interviews and
cast their votes. The votes are tallied and verified by a third party accounting
firm and kept a well-guarded secret by PriceWaterhouseCoopers until the live
telecast on the night of the awards.

The honorary board includes Tim
Adam, Bobby Bodden, Heather Bodden, Naul Bodden, Dax Foster, Shane Foster,
Jackie Hansen, Rod Hansen, Roy McTaggart, Karin Thompson, James Tibbetts, Susan
A. Olde, Andreas Ugland and Olivaire Watler.



For 11 years, the Young Caymanian
Leadership Awards have been presented to a sell-out audience.

In 2000, the YCLA honoured Olivaire
Watler, and in 2001 Dax Foster received the award.

Further recipients were Sara
Collins (2002), Steve Blair (2003) and Cindy Scotland (2004).

In 2005, following Hurricane Ivan,
the YCLA honorary board postponed the event out of  respect for the needs of hurricane relief.
Many young leaders came to the fore that year and were recognised and rewarded
during the 2006 YCLA.


For ticket information, email
[email protected] or call 916-8335.

Local Story

Collin Anglin was the 2010 Young Caymanian Leadership Award recipient.
Photo: File