CITA celebrates 10 years

The Cayman Islands Tourism Association is celebrating its decade in existence.

The private sector tourism body came into being in 2001 with the amalgamation of the Restaurant Association, the Watersports Association and the Hotel and Condo Association. Since then, the body has represented the voice of the private sector across all tourism-related businesses.

The association is active in increasing air arrivals, seeking to implement National Conservation Law, inputting into cruise port development and working with the Department of Tourism on their marketing.

In addition, the association seeks to reduce the cost of doing business, ease of immigration and ease of doing business in the Cayman Islands.

Its promotions include the Key to Cayman magazine, Dive 365, the Kittiwake, Cayman Islands Tourism Exchange, and more.

The Cayman Islands Tourism Association also works with the Ministry of Tourism on the Caribcert programme, a training accreditation for the Tourism Apprenticeship Programme.

Looking forward

“We look forward to celebrating the association’s accomplishments and its 10 years of service to the Cayman Islands tourism sector and its membership at this year’s AGM,” said project and marketing manager Erin Bodden

The annual general meeting takes place at the Marriott Grand Cayman Resort from 3.30- 5.30pm on Thursday, 14 April.

A new board of directors will be elected by CITA members, with the exception of three posts that are carried over into 2011-12 due to receiving the most votes in the previous AGM.

There are several categories, some with more than one seat open.

The nominees with the three highest numbers of votes will serve for two years, and 50 per cent of CITA members must be in attendance at the annual general meeting for voting to take place.

After the votes have been tallied, the newly selected board will discuss who the new president of CITA will be, and in subsequent board meetings, a vice president, treasurer and secretary will be selected.

For consistency, the past president sits on the board for a year following their term.

Nominees are:

Hotel – (two seats): Nadia Hardie (Sunshine Suites), Enrique Tasende (Marriott Grand Cayman Island Beach Resort), Arie Barendrecht (Cobalt Coast);

Condo – Villa (one seat): Tom McCallum serves a second year (The Reef), Harry Lalli (Treasure Island Resort).

Watersports – (one seat open): Rod McDowall serves a second year (Red Sail Sports), Jane Van der Bol (Cayman Luxury Charters), Padraic Linnane (Resort Sports), Nancy Easterbrook (Dive Tech)

Restaurant – (two seats open): Steven Hayes (Cimboco, Chicken! Chicken!, Breezes by the Bay), Markus Mueri (Abacus, Prime, Deckers).

Transportation – (two seats): Nigel Mitten (Majestic Tours), Brian Krug (Budget Rent A Car).

Allied / Attraction/ Retail/ Bank etcetera – (one seat): Hugh Treadwell serves a second year (Active Capital), Tim Adam (Cayman Turtle Farm).

Cruise – (one seat): Ken Hydes (Camana Bay), Ronnie Anglin (Captain Marvins).

Sister Islands seat will be appointed by the Sister Islands Tourism Association and announced at the AGM.

For more information contact [email protected] or 949-8522.