Esso Cubs clinch T/20 honours

The Esso Cubs are the new champions on the local cricket scene.

Esso provided a fitting end to a record-breaking Cayman Islands local cricket season with an emphatic display capturing the division two T/20 title. Paramount won the toss and decided to bat getting off to a good start with Lawrence McIntoch 46 and Leon Watson 11 but no one else were able to handle the spin of the Cubs.

Tony Higgens, Sacha De Alwis, Ricardo Roach and Wayne Cato were amongst the wickets bowling out Paramount for a small total of 79 runs. It was easy pickings for the Cubs from there as Dave Holness, Ricardo Roach and Darren Cato made short work of the evening exercise, winning by eight wickets.

AIMS Consultants won the playoff for third place, defeating Chillies by 21 runs. After limiting AIMS to 111 runs, Chillies made a gallant stride in their innings. However their comeback would fall short with 12 balls remaining and 27 runs required.

For Esso their triumph comes after a stellar performance in the semi-finals against AIMS. Captain Omar Willis won the toss and decided to bat first. An excellent opening partnership between Ricardo Roach 48 and Sacha De Alwis 27 set the platform for a big total. AIMS remained in the contest by restricting the free-scoring Cubs and limiting them to 133 for seven wickets.

After 10 overs AIMS were 60 for 3 and ahead of Esso at that stage but the fall of Ainsley Hall 36 saw the Cubs taking control. With the artificial pitch taking plenty of turn, Esso spin bowlers Ricardo Roach, Tony Higgens, Sacha De Alwis and Wayne Cato were unplayable. The result is that Esso won by 43 runs.

Meanwhile runners-up Paramount are left wondering what could have been. The side waited three weeks for the weather to clear and allow the semi-final to be played.

In the end Esso are the division two champions and Greenies are the division two league champions. Prison had a clean sweep in division one, claiming the league and T/20 titles. In the women’s league the Island Heritage Stingrays claimed the league championship while Greenies were the T/20 winners.

After a recording-breaking 106 matches involving men and women, the curtain has finally come down on the Cayman Islands Cricket Association local leagues. It was a season of many outstanding performances but none more so than the brilliance of Ladel Farquharson. Playing in both divisions, Ladel struck 40 fours and a mind-blowing 81 sixes.

The association wishes to record its thanks to the Ministry of Sports, Department of Sports, the umpires, media, grounds men, players and supporters.

Comments are closed.