Team USA storms to I-Cup crown

Cayman may have had the most flag football teams but team USA walked away with the props.

The US side were the winners at the 2011 International Cup over the weekend. Ed Bush field in West Bay would see local players suiting up for their respective countries in the last Cayman Islands Flag Football Association event of the year.

Among the happy US team-members is Todd Hazlewood, who states the victory breaks a chain of Cayman success.

“Team USA went 4-0 and is the first team to win this tournament besides Cayman since inception five years ago,” Hazlewood said. “The team won a cash prize which we are donating to the Toys for Tots charity.”

The US were one of five male squads to participate with the others being Team World, Cayman North, Cayman East and Cayman West. The Americans would win their title on Sunday in a 19-14 victory over World. Tournament Most Valuable Player Chris Lucas had two rushing touchdowns for the US and threw another to Brendon Malice. By the end of the competition, Lucas had 15 rushing and passing TDs.

Defensively the US stayed in the game with a sack from Malice, Dave Velez and Jonathan Carter. World put up a good fight as quarterback Glenn Duran threw two TDs, one to Nigel Solomon and the other to Leslie Harvey.

While Cayman did not figure into the final result, the teams had some notable talent. The East had a lot of players from the Maples Packers men’s team such as Jordan Cacho and Casey Salgado in addition to West Bay Hellcats tight-end Kevin Maxwell, Cox Lumber Colts player David Taylor and head coach Rhod Taylor (who played with the Burger King Panthers).

For the North the majority of players came from the Colts, Calabash Soldiers and Doghouse Bulldogs (with the Panthers and Hammerheads Pirates also represented). Some of the stars include quarterback Luigi Moxam, wide-out Jon Pump and two-way stand-out Taj Haye. The West, initially tabbed as favourites, ended up being one of the most light-hearted and entertaining sides to watch.

Dms Hellcats star Phil Brown anchored the team along with Nikolai Hill but among the more interesting players were offensive lineman Adrean ‘Subway’ Russell as quarterback and referee Rob Duty as quarterback/wide receiver.

For the record the women fielded four teams in Jamaica, USA, World and Cayman. Among the talent on display was Dionne Whittaker and MVPs Bobeth O’Garro and Scimone Campbell.

Comments are closed.