Cayman delegation heads to OT meetings in Curacao

A Cayman Islands delegation led by Premier McKeeva Bush left for Curacao on Wednesday to attend the first high-level Caribbean Overseas Countries and Territories Council Meeting.

The meeting took place on 26 April with discussions covering a range of matters affecting relations between the overseas territories and the European Union.

An election of the council’s executive body is at the top of the day’s agenda. Discussion on a Memorandum of Understanding establishing the council follows with the meeting culminating with the signing of the MoU.

Other matters on the agenda are: Areas of regional cooperation around sustainable development, strengthening the development of small and medium sized enterprises, and the regional position within the framework of the 11th European Union – Overseas Countries and Territories Forum.

Other British Overseas Territories, aside from Cayman, attending the meeting are Anguilla, British Virgin Islands and Montserrat. The Dutch territories and countries participating are Saba, St. Eustatius, Bonaire, St. Maarten, Aruba and Curacao.

Delegates accompanying Premier Bush to the council meeting are Chief of Staff Leonard Dilbert, Jamaal Anderson, technical assistant European Union Projects in the Cabinet Office and attorney Steve McField.

Comments are closed.