Industry to recognise members

The Cayman Islands Tourism Association has announced the final list of nominees for the ninth Annual Cayman Stingray Tourism Awards.

These awards are the highest honour bestowed by the Cayman Islands Tourism Association in recognition of individuals who have offered the greatest contribution to the well-being of the Cayman Islands tourism industry throughout the year, the association noted. There are 52 nominees in 2012 representing every sector of the tourism industry in the Cayman Islands. These are individuals who provide great service to guests both on the front line and behind the scenes.

“The members and sponsors of the Cayman Islands Tourism Association believe that the outstanding hospitality demonstrated by these nominees deserves to be noticed. Each of these individuals contributes to the Cayman Islands tourism product,” said Jane van der Bol, Cayman Islands Tourism Association’s executive director.

The evening will begin with Cayman Islands Premier McKeeva Bush addressing the nominees. Each nominee will be individually recognised and presented with a certificate.

“All nominees are winners in the eyes of the Cayman Islands Tourism Association. Guests are touched in some way by these superstars, which in turn encourages them to return to the island,” Ms Van der Bol said. The awards are locally made hand blown glass stingrays created by Island Glass Blowing Studio; the most coveted the Double Stingray Award will be presented to the Lifetime Achievement recipient. Following the ceremony, attendees will enjoy dinner, dancing and live music by Bona Fide.

The nominees are:

Accommodations Employee of the Year

Howard Beckford, Compass Point Dive Resort; Susan Halenda, the Reef Resort; Leroy Jordan, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Accommodations Manager of the Year

Theresa Broderick, Plantana; Mara Butler, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman; Nathashia Dixon, Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort; Gaylene Gomez, Compass Point Dive Resort; Nassaria Millwood, Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Allied Employee of the Year

Jay Evans, Atlantis Submarines and Civil Aviation; Nicholas Hurlston, Camana Bay; Jim Larocca, Morritts Tortuga Club; Roger Manderson Jr., Dolphin Cove; Jay Mehta, Netclues Inc.; Joseph Shooman, Cayman Free Press; Jeff Zelaya, Camana Bay

Allied Manager of the Year

Jo-Anne Brown, Celebrations; Walker Romanica, Cayman Spirits Company

Restaurant Employee of the Year

Erasmo Corrado, Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort; Prathap Duvvuri, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman; Kapila Kodituwakku, Rum Point Club; Monika Seitz, Grand Old House; Shelly-Ann Thompson, Chicken!Chicken!

Restaurant Manager of the Year

Erika Chadwick, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman; Niels Schulze-Gattermann, Westin Casuarina Resort and Spa, Grand Cayman

Transportation Employee of the Year

Ashton Ebanks, Dolphin Cove; Andrew Elliott, Captain Marvin’s Watersports; Mark Nelson, Majestic Tours

Transportation Manager of the Year

Gary Todd, Budget Rent a Car

Watersports Employee of the Year

Tamara Ebanks, Captain Marvin’s Watersports; Vernon Felix, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman; James Grainger, Red Sail Sports; Robert Hopwood, Sunset Divers; Brock Kelsch, Ocean Frontiers; Elly Wray, Ocean Frontiers

Watersports Manager of the Year

Mauro Bertolino, Acquarius Sea Tours; Gary Frost, Living The Dream Divers; Steve Foster, Red Sail Sports/Tortuga Divers; Lise Sutherland, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Special Awards

Long Service Award

Wilton Dabrio, The Islands Club; Nealy Dilbert, Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort; Beatrice Powell, Tukka Restaurant and Bar; Blossom Thompson Grant, Westin Casuarina Resort and Spa Grand Cayman

Rising Star in Tourism Award

Davin Barrett, the Reef Resort; Alexandra “Lexie” Bush, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman; Valmik Chin, Captain Marvin’s Watersports; Jayann Dawkins, Atlantis Submarines; Sheera Gooding, Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort; Carl Jackson, Divetech; Colin Bristow, Ocean Frontiers

Lifetime Achievement Award

Ronnie Anglin, Captain Marvin’s Watersports; Adrien Briggs, Red Sail Sports/Sunset House/Harbour House; Gladys Howard, Pirates Point Resort

The Cayman Islands Tourism Association welcomes friends, family and colleagues of nominees to attend and celebrate the success of these top performers on Tuesday, 26 June at a gala dinner hosted by the Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman. Tickets are $85 each or $800 for a table of 10. For tickets, email the Cayman Islands Tourism Association at [email protected] Office hours are Monday to Friday 9am to 4pm.

If you value our service, if you have turned to us in the past few days or weeks for verified, factual updates, if you have watched our live streaming of press conferences or sent an article to a friend... please consider a donation. Quality local journalism was at risk before the coronavirus crisis. It is now deeply threatened. Even a small amount can go a long way to sustaining our mission of informing the public. We need our readers’ financial support now more than ever.