Rotaract Club of Grand Cayman begins a new year

Changeover ceremony ushers in new leaders

he Rotaract Club of Grand Cayman is under the leadership of a new board of directors and officers.  

Rotaractors, Rotarians, family and friends attended the club’s Changeover Ceremony at Edoardo’s Restaurant and witnessed the installment of the 2012-2013 directors and officers; including Derrick Vermont, positioned as the new president of RCGC.  

Immediate Past President Leslie-Ann Wilson highlighted RCGC’s many achievements over the past year, including numerous service projects, the induction of 13 new Rotaractors, over $4,000 in donations to various community organisations and international award recognitions from Rotary International and Rotaract District 7020. 

Ms Wilson, Past President and District Rotaract Representative Adrean Russell, past Club Service Director and Rotaractor of the Year for District 7020 Stephanie Rattan were recognised for outstanding efforts and dedication to the club. Each were presented with a Paul Harris Fellow from PDG Rotarian Robert Ketron of the Rotary Club of Towsontown, Maryland. 

President Derrick outlined his goals for the year, including membership development and membership growth as well as the board’s plans for the year being centred around the theme, “Healthy bodies, healthy minds – Enriched community”.  

The projects will focus on RCGC’s main platforms, specifically the promotion of healthy eating and the prevention of childhood obesity, professional and vocational development, international service in addition to environmental and general community service efforts.  

This year, RCGC’s Professional Development will primarily contribute to a mentoring initiative between Rotaractors and high school-leavers to develop effective résumé writing and interviewing skills. 

The 2012-2013 Rotaract Club of Grand Cayman Board of Directors and Officers are: President Derrick Vermont, Vice President Lauren Langlois, Immediate Past President Leslie-Ann Wilson, Secretary Stephanie Rattan, Treasurer Glenn Duran, Sergeant at Arms Danielle Japal, Community Service Director Janelle Langlois, International Service Director Flavia Abu-Kessm and Professional Development Director Christopher Hadome. 


From left, President Derrick Vermont, Vice President Lauren Langlois, Secretary Stephanie Rattan, Professional Development Director Christopher Hadome, International Service Director Flavia Abu-Kessm, Community Service Director Janelle Langlois, Immediate Past Presdient Leslie-Ann Wilson and Treasurer Glenn Duran. – Photo: Submitted