Conservation awards finalists announced

The finalists for the inaugural Governor’s Conservation Awards have been released.  

The Tourism Conservation Award finalists are Peter Hillenbrand, Neil van Niekerk and Sea Elements. The short-listed finalists in the Conservationist of the Year category are Arie Barendrecht, Bonnie Scott Edwards and Mike Vallee. 

Also, the finalists in the Corporate Conservation category are Cayman Islands Brewery, Montessori-by-the-Sea and Yellow Pages. In the Heritage Preservation category, the finalists are the Cayman Islands Catboat Club, Deborah Truchan and Roy Bodden. 

They were selected by a panel of judges convened Cayman Islands Governor Duncan Taylor from nominations received from the public. Nominees in each category had to meet a comprehensive set of criteria in order to be considered as a finalist. 

According to Christina McTaggart, general manager of the National Trust for the Cayman Islands, the organisation which launched the awards in liaison with the governor’s office, was happy with the response to the request for nominations. 

“We were very impressed with not only the number but also the calibre of the nominations. Thank you to all those who took the time and effort to complete and submit the nomination forms,” she said.  

The awards will be presented at the National Trust’s 25th anniversary gala at Grand Old House on Friday, 2 November. The awards honour organisations and individuals committed to preserving Cayman’s history and environment. 


Tickets to the gala and awards are still available. To book a table or purchase tickets please contact Basia McGuire at 749-1129. 

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now