Drivers rev up to assault time

Racers will not have to wait long to carve corners.

The Cayman Motorsports Association recently announced a tentative schedule for the 2013 Time Attack, its signature series of autocross races. George Town’s Progressive Loop is set to stage the first race on 24 February.

From there, races will take place at the end of each month. The current dates are 24 March, 28 April, 26 May, 23 June, 28 July, 25 August, 29 September and 27 October. The season-ending Al and Jay Bodden Memorial is slated for 24 November with the awards dinner and Annual General Meeting on 4 December.

Focus this month will be on 2012 winners Jimel McLean, Alexander ‘AJ’ Conolly and Keith ‘Speedy’ Tibbetts III. McLean dominated the street and battle sections of the Two-Wheel Drive class in a Honda Civic.

Conolly won the All Wheel Drive division in his Mitsubishi Evolution VIII and Tibbetts III ran his Valvoline Subaru Impreza Sti to the overall title in the Unlimited category.

Comments are closed.