Ladies net new format

The national women’s netball competition has new divisions.

The Cayman Islands Netball Association 2013 Open League will see action segmented into three categories in Championship, Plate and Division Three. The change was made this month as teams progress towards the playoffs in May.

Reigning national champions All Stars A, with talents like Nicola Williams, steady the Championship group along with Lavern Ebanks’ Storm Radarz, Rosemarie Wilson’s Rising Stars A, Marsha Campbell’s Flames Strikers and Chelsea Alvaranga’s Unity.

Karen Smith-James’ Cayman National Bank All Stars B headline the Plate category. On their heels are Alexis Carias’ Rising Stars B, Melanie Lewis’ Supa Storm, Molly Ann Moore’s Royal Cayman Islands Police Service Renegades and Charlotte Shepeard’s Jets.

Division Three features Louise Kitching’s Ernst and Young Hot Shots, Nekita Saintvil’s Optimists, Josefa Martinez’s Island Heritage and Shania Ebanks’ Storm Chaserz.

League matches will continue on Thursdays and Saturdays, with tripleheaders each night as games start at 6.45pm and 8pm. Most of the action will centre around the Truman Bodden Sports Complex netball courts though there will be monthly featured games at Camana Bay’s Arts and Recreation Centre.

The first indoor showcase took place earlier this month. Katherine Maw propelled All Stars A to a 43-27 thrashing of Sophia Foster’s Radarz and Whonda Fuad led All Stars B to a 29-19 win over Shanai Allen’s Rising Stars B. Shenae Watson guided Rising Stars A to a 44-38 win over Samantha Dennis’ Flames Strikers.

The next scheduled contests are this Thursday, 21 February, at Truman Bodden. At 6.45pm Island Heritage face Renegades while Chaserz battle Optimists and at 8pm, Unity challenge Rising Stars A.

Comments are closed.