All Stars repeat as champions

All Stars A can breathe rare air in local netball. 

All Stars are now back-to-back national champions after winning their second straight title. The squad would beat Storm Radarz, 42-38, in the grand finale for the Cayman Islands Netball Association 2013 Open League. 

Technical director for Cayman netball Gillian Lee said last Saturday’s match at Camana Bay’s Arts and Recreation Centre was intense. 

“Storm’s passes into Kay Copeland were unstoppable and she finished off with a goal every time,” Lee said. “All Stars’ defence picked up through the mid court, which stopped Radarz from getting any flow in attack, therefore stopping the ball before it got to the goal circle. All Stars’ attack moved the ball swiftly, getting the ball into the goal circle and close to the post, finishing with a shot.  

“Overall, it was a great challenging match for both teams.” 

Suiting up for All Stars A were Goal Shooter Nicola Williams, Goal Attack Carolyn Vivian, Wing Attack Kayon Clarke, Centre Katherine Maws, Wing Defence Tashena Parks, Goal Defence Cynthia Collington, Goal Keeper Teneisha Wilson and subs Lyneth Monteith, Adena Miller, Andrea Singh, Pauline Bodden and Tishelle Logan. 

Saturday’s league final also crowned a Plate Division winner in All Stars B, who beat Rising Stars B by some 16 points. Brittany Mobley had a stellar game for the winning team at centre court with help from GD Keisha Solomon and WD Noviann McLean. 

Lee said in spite of the score, it was a close contest. 

“Even though the score blew out in the last 10 minutes of the game, before that, it was an extremely close, hard fought battle. Awesome defence by GD Hannah Peralta made it difficult for All Stars to get the ball into the circle at times.  

“There was excellent shooting by All Stars and both teams moved the ball swiftly. In the end, All Stars’ defence slowed Rising Stars down, forcing many errors and intercepts.”