Vigoro sprouts up

Vigoro have been crowned Cayman Little League Single A Champions for 2013 after completing an incredible turnaround in fortunes. After going 0-6 in the regular season, they won three straight playoff games to take the title.

They did it the hard way in the final with favourites KPMG staging an amazing comeback of their own. With clutch hitting from Dillan Dacosta, Darwin Jiminez, Dre McField, Natah Balon and Pierre Sokohl, Vigoro jumped out to a 5-0 first inning lead and tacked on another five in the second inning thanks to Kameron Bennett and Kaiden Manderson.

With Joanky Montero keeping the KPMG bats quiet with excellent pitching, Vigoro took what seemed like an insurmountable, 10-1, lead into the third. KPMG would not go down without a fight, however, and with strong hitting from Jakob Kunzer and Matthew Goddard, as well as some terrific base running, battled back.

The accountants managed to close the deficit to 12-11 in the final inning, despite a stand out catching performance from Rashaad Powery. In a hugely tense finale, Vigoro managed to get the last three outs while leaving the tying run stranded on second base.

The final Single A standings saw Vigoro take the title from KPMG with Crossfit 7 Milers and Cashwiz sharing third place and Pizza Hut taking fourth.

Saturday will see the Single A All-Stars play, prior to the awards ceremony.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now