Caribbean Premier League insight will hit crowds for six

The inaugural Caribbean Premier League is approaching and in the build up to its start a weekly television programme – CPLT20 TV – is being filmed in each of the six franchise countries where the T20 cricket tournament will be played.

In six, half-hour episodes, fans around the region will be taken behind the scenes and get an insight into the families, friends and officials who have played a part in creating the CPLT20.

Barbados company Merville Lynch Productions has teamed up with Line & Length Network Producer Barry Wilkinson to document the historic coming together of the CPLT20.

When the first episode airs in a few weeks’ time, following the International Cricket Council Champions Trophy in the UK, it will be shown weekly on terrestrial television stations in Antigua, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Trinidad and Tobago and other countries soon to be announced, leading up to the first ball of the tournament on 30 July.

“The amount of excitement and anticipation that is already being felt in the islands for the CPLT20 is unbelievable,” said Wilkinson on location in Kingston, Jamaica.

“We just interviewed the former Jamaican Prime Minister P.J. Patterson, who made some stunning revelations; last week we toured through Santa Cruz in Trinidad and Tobago with Dwayne and Darren Bravo’s parents and, basically, we have been capturing the key ingredients to making this tournament happen.”

Wilkinson said the CPLT20 programme will also take viewers to Antigua, Barbados, Guyana and St. Lucia and look back at some historic moments in cricket history that made each of those countries unique.

“CPLT20 TV will also feature such personalities as Curtly Ambrose, Sylvester Joseph, Marlon Samuels, Herchelle Gibbs and Tino Best.

“It will be fun. We will take fans on a journey during each programme to ensure that when the first ball is bowled they will indeed come out to play,” Wilkinson said.

The inaugural Caribbean Premier League runs from 30 July through 26 August and includes 24 matches played across six Caribbean countries – Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago.

Comments are closed.