CIBC go for hat trick

The annual Cayman Islands Corporate Football League, which has been running for more than 20 years, commenced last Tuesday.

It includes teams from the financial services industry, with a couple of special invites extended to Dart and Caribbean Utilities Company.

CIBC FirstCaribbean are the two-time reigning champions and launched their campaign at the Ed Bush stadium in West Bay with a 3-1 win over PWC, thanks to goals from new signings Thomas Bush and a brace from Rob Crockett. PWC scored through Ryne Staback.

Title hopefuls CNB gave their rivals an early edge by suffering a shock defeat to UBS, going down 2-1 in the late game, through a brace from Tamuwana Chido Mhlanga. Mark Ebanks scored for CNB.

In Wednesdays only game, Walkers defeated RBC, 4-1, after a brace by Timmy Myles and further strikes from Richard Munden and veteran Micton Bedasse. Gustavo Sancinetti replied for RBC.

Thursday’s games saw Butterfield re-emerge as title contenders with a 2-0 opening win over Dart thanks to goals from Jairo Sanchez and Roderick Pearson.

In the late game, Maples put the lights out on Fidelity/CUC with a 5-2 beating, with strikes by Gabriel Goddet, Daniel Cummings, Theron Wood, David Taylor and star female player Sophia Dilbert. Raheem Robinson and Wesley Robinson replied for Fidelity/CUC.

After the first round of games, the big win for Maples has them top on goal difference, but with five other teams winning too it will take a while to see who are going to be the main contenders.

CNB hope for a big response after their shock defeat whilst big guns FCIB and Butterfield want another victory.

After big wins in their first games, this may be the year for one of the law firms, Maples or Walkers, to wrestle the title away from the banks, who have dominated the trophy for the last decade. In any event it promises to be an exciting season.

Comments are closed.