Coalition for Cayman group will continue

The political group Coalition for Cayman will continue to function, mainly in an advocacy role, following the May 2013 general election.  

Coalition co-chairman James Bergstrom said Tuesday that the coalition had built a “permanent voice” for keeping the government honest and accountable.  

“We look forward to our continuing role of monitoring the actions of the new government, lending assistance where possible and holding them to account when necessary,” Mr. Bergstrom said in a statement released Tuesday.  

Three coalition-endorsed candidates – Roy McTaggart, Winston Connolly and Tara Rivers – were elected to office on 22 May. Ms Rivers was given a ministry post in the ruling People’s Progressive Movement government, while Mr. Connolly joined on as a government backbencher.  

Mr. McTaggart is sitting on the opposite side of the House from the government in what has become the “independent” section – away from the opposition party in the southeast corner of the Legislative Assembly floor.  

“[The coalition-supported candidates’] independence can no longer be in doubt and we know they will support the policies they believe in and oppose those they do not, regardless of where they sit in the LA,” Mr. Bergstrom’s statement read.  

The coalition urged the other members of the assembly to put aside partisan political differences and work together. Cayman’s new government might be called a “coalition” of sorts, but it is led by 10 members of the Progressives government, including new member Juliana O’Connor-Connolly.  

The ruling government and opposition benches took their final shape as Ms O’Connor-Connolly, the former premier, was nominated as Speaker of the House, replacing Mary Lawrence in that role last week.  

“Let us rise to the challenge and begin a new form of politics so that our children, when we leave this stage, can look at this juncture as a defining moment in time,” Ms O’Connor-Connolly said. “Egos will be put in a little box and throw away the key and statesmen and [states]women will rise from this chamber.”  

Not counting Ms O’Connor-Connolly, who as speaker will not get to vote in legislative matters, Premier Alden McLaughlin will have 11 people in his new government. That includes himself and eight Progressives party members, as well as Ms Rivers and Mr. Connolly. 


The winning Coalition for Cayman threesome, from left, are Roy McTaggart, Tara Rivers and Winston Connolly. – PHOTO: JAMES WHITTAKER

Comments are closed.