Mustangs riding high

The Mustang Track Club travelled to Tampa two weeks ago for the 22nd staging of the BAYTAF track and field classic at the University of South Florida.  

The BAYTAF Classic is one of South Florida’s stellar age group championships held every year on Memorial Day weekend and comprises of teams from the Bahamas, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands and a host of clubs from the US. 

This year, 34 athletes made the trip and coach Tyrone Yen was pleased with the way the athletes performed. It was evident that this year’s team, even though much smaller than previous years, were not going to underachieve and they did not disappoint. The squad took home 19 medals with six golds, six silvers and seven bronzes and a trophy for finishing in third place overall in Division 2.  

“We also had several athletes getting personal bests in their events, as well as making the finals,” Yen said.  

Among those athletes were Rajay Reid, whose 49.72 seconds took fourth in the 400 metres young men division. Also registering success were finalist Tavarist Fowle, who took second in his heat in 55.79 seconds in the 400m; Kashief Williams, who earned first in his heat in 1 minute, 2.54 seconds in the 400m; Shemar Smith, whose 18.75 feet in the long jump nabbed eighth; Nathanyell Francis, who earned first in his flight with 17.01 feet in the long jump; Jeavhon Jackson, whose 5 feet 8 inches took first in the high jump while he also took third in the 400m in 52.72 seconds. Finally, Kayla Thompson took third in her heat in 1 minute, 7.17 seconds in the 400m.  

Coach Yen said: “On behalf of the Mustang Organisation president Ms Sana Tugman, vice president Noel Jackson, secretary Bridgett Myers, assistant secretary Suzette Anderson, treasurer Theresa Senior, fundraising chair Donna Yen, Desree Tulloch, Elroy Allen and all our sponsors, parents and supporters who made the trip a reality, a big thanks to you all as we look forward to your continued support.” 


Jeavhon Jackson won two golds and a bronze at BAYTAF. – PHOTOS: RON SHILLINGFORD


Daujaughn Murray won bronze.

Comments are closed.