Huggins hopes to shift into form for night-time battle

Autocross is taking another shot at night-time racing.

The Cayman Motorsports Association stages its next race in its 2013 Time Attack series this Saturday, 20 July. The Progressive Loop in George Town will host the cone-dodging action from 7.30pm.

In a statement, the association stated the buzz will be around the return of head marshall and motorsports veteran Peter Jurgens. The statement reads: “We have another night event lined up for this Saturday. Our head marshall has returned from a hiatus abroad so we look forward to reminding him of exactly what he has been missing with some white-knuckle, cone-dodging action.”

The last autocross meet at night was back in May. Craig Burke, in his Subaru Impreza GC8 RA, won the Street class with a 66.704 second run. Marcus Huggins teamed up with dad Gary Huggins in the Kimmar Distributors Toyota Starlet KP61 in the Unlimited category. The duo finished second and third with Marcus placing just 0.066 seconds behind his dad.

Marcus would rebound and win the Unlimited Battle run. Bobby Hulse, in his Toyota Altezza SXE10, won the group in a time of 65.357 seconds and finished second in the battle run.

Mandatory race registration takes place on Friday, 19 July, at 7pm at Automotive Art. Toyo tyres are the main sponsors and new racers can compete for free.