Florida form boosts tacklers

Local flag football hopes to build off a strong showing in Florida.

The Cayman Islands national men’s team finished tied for fifth in the “9-Man Ineligible B-Flag” division at the 43rd annual U.S. Flag and Touch League National Flag Football Championships in Kissimmee, Florida last month. The squad was put together by the Cayman Islands Flag Football Association, which said in a statement that it was pleased with the performance.

The statement reads, “Led by coaches Ike Bush and Rohan Marshall, the national men reached the quarterfinals of the 9-man bracket in what was an encouraging performance overall.”

Cayman was one of nine teams competing at the Austin Tindall Sports Complex, with squads from American states like Maryland, Alabama and Missouri. The Nomads from Trenton, New Jersey were the group winners while Bahamian team the Bahamas Flag Football League Predators – hailing from Nassau – were ninth.

Among those representing Cayman were Damian Barboram, Matt Bone, Chris Bennett, Nikolai Hill, Perry Levy, Chris Lucas, Brendon Malice, Paul McField Jr., Oliver Parker, Josh Parsons, Will Peguero Jr, Adrian Rowe, Jermaine Sharpe, Baron Solomon, Tito Solomon, David Taylor, Rhod Taylor and Peter Whittaker.

There was also a women’s team that competed in the ‘Women 8-Man Eligible Flag’ division. Cayman finished tied for 17th out of 20 teams with squads hailing from Florida, Georgia and Ohio. The winning team was the Black Mambas from Washington, D.C. Among those representing Cayman were Cassandra Bodden, Scimone Campbell, Maggie Ebanks, Alexandria Saintvil, Camille Solomon, Treveen Stewart and Joni Wood.

In all, there were 337 teams divided into 28 categories ranging from the nine-a-side format to four-on-four competitions and featured various age groups from 35 and over masters to youth aged 7-8.

Up next on the local calendar is the Burger King Coed League, tentatively set to start Feb. 14, and The Security Centre Ltd. 2014 Youth Flag Football League, which held registration last Saturday.

Comments are closed.