New magistrates appointed to bench

Governor Helen Kilpatrick has sworn in three new acting magistrates for the Cayman Islands Summary Court.  

The acting magistrates, who were announced during the January opening of the Grand Court, are: Philippa McFarlane Ebanks, Angelyn Hernandez and Adam Roberts. 

The governor’s office said the acting magistrates will start training in the coming weeks and will soon be presiding in criminal and civil matters.  

“I am delighted that we have been able to appoint three very capable, experienced and highly regarded professionals from within our local community to sit in the summary courts,” Mr. Justice Smellie said.  


Pictured at Friday’s swearing-in ceremony were, from left, Chief Justice Anthony Smellie, Angelyn Hernandez, Governor Helen Kilpatrick, Philippa McFarlane Ebanks, Chief Magistrate Nova Hall and Adam Roberts.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now