Charterland plots flawless campaign ahead of title run

Team Charterland hopes their spotless record leads to a basketball championship.

The surveyors went 7-0 through the division two regular season of the Digicel National Men’s League, and they are the top seed for this week’s playoffs, which started Tuesday. The squad wrapped up its campaign with a convincing 89-66 victory over the Cayman Islands Hoopsters at Camana Bay’s Arts and Recreation Centre.

Nathan Smith went off for 26 points and 12 rebounds for the winners, while Will Koutney added 14 points and 15 rebounds, Chris LeBeau scored 13 points from three 3-pointers, Jeremy Strickland contributed 12 points and Chris Levers chipped in 10 points. Naithique Jackson led Hoopsters with 15 points, Josh Fehr nabbed 13 points and Devonte Dacres scored 10 points.

In the final standings, 6-1 Smoothie King was in second, 4-3 NEC Titans were in third, 4-3 Team Philippines in fourth, 3-4 Sol Blazers in fifth, 2-5 Hoopsters sixth, 2-5 Juniors seventh and 0-7 Rock Hole Fire Ants in last place. The postseason, which runs until early May, is taking place after the division All-Star Game last weekend, which was incorporated into the international referee clinic. Justin Collins of Juniors won the 3-point shootout and Strickland was the Most Valuable Player, with 24 points.

Smoothie King ended an impressive rookie campaign with a 64-61 win over Juniors. Andrew Diaz led the winners with 13 points, Randy Estuesta had 12 points, Jerrick Villestas added 11 and Joebert Macasling had 10. Juawon Ebanks paced the Juniors with 18 points, Arin Taylor contributed 16, and Albis Amaya chipped in 11 points and 10 rebounds.

Titans crushed Blazers, 75-60, with 20 points and 14 rebounds from Kadane Hall, 16 points and 19 rebounds from Darrell Paddyfoot, 15 points from Bryce Thompson and 11 points from Noli Lapena. Keon Bodden scored 16 points for Sol, Travis Barnes nabbed 15 points and 14 rebounds, and Gino Brown contributed 10 points and 13 rebounds.

Philippines beat Rock Hole, 67-61, as John Louie Calara scored 16 points, Paul Villanueva had 12 points, and Darwin Mancenido nabbed 10 points. Maxwell Linwood paced Fire Ants with 24 points, Leroy Stewart grabbed 11 points, and Radhames Polanco and Gordon Solomon each nabbed 10 points.

Comments are closed.