Triumphant Academy kids took opposition to school

Academy Sports Club’s Under-13 football team have plenty to celebrate this week, as they enjoy their FA cup win for the third consecutive season and they have also won the league. 

Academy’s U-12s did well too, winning two one-day rallies held at the beginning and the end of the season. 

Coach Paul Byles, who coaches both teams, said, “At Academy, we teach our young players not only how to improve in their sporting prowess, but also how to develop their leadership skills and commitment. 

“I believe these attributes have been well demonstrated this season and the boys are to be congratulated on all their hard work that has helped them achieve these impressive wins.”  

The focus for Academy’s U-13 and U-11 teams now turns to an international competition, as Byles prepares to take them to a tournament in Blaine, Minnesota next month.  

The USA Cup, touted as America’s greatest youth soccer tournament, takes place from July 15-19 and features more than 500 teams, with full-length games for teams aged from U-11 to U-19. It’s a five-day tournament with each team guaranteed playing four games and all will advance to playoffs. 

Academy Sports Club Head Coach Virgil Seymour said the experience will be immeasurable for the young players. 

“We are really excited about our U-11 and U-13 teams participating in the USA Cup,” he said. “It will be a fierce competition that will require tremendous stamina and technical ability from our boys, but I know they will work hard as a team to ensure they do their best.  

“It will be a fantastic experience for each member of both teams and we anticipate the boys will return to Cayman having grown as a player and as a person because of the experience.” 

Academy also had other successes with their youth teams as the U-17s won the league and the U-23s were finalist in the FA Cup. 


Academy U-13, back, from left, Paul Byles (coach), Raishon Bennette, Luke Byles, Mathew Haynes, Justyn Powell, Rohelio Wright, Dominic Owens, Dimitri Bodden, Shay Lalor, Jondane Dawkins, Corey Smith. Front, Iain MacRae, Victor Thompson, Jamal Rankin, Harrison Hew, Alfredo Whittaker, Jahmai Griffiths, Chris Alberga, Jamaal Whittaker, Conor Crighton, Azzuka Obi.