Titans topple KPMG for 11th crown

Cayman’s most decorated softball team has yet another championship. 

The Tower Titans defeated KPMG A, 22-17, this week to emerge A League winners of the Cayman Islands Little League Association’s 2014 Winter Adult Coed Softball League. The Titans feature Peter Whittaker, Ryan Ebanks and essentially the same group of players who won some 10 championships under the sponsorship of Home Gas. 

Whittaker said this season’s title represented a weight being lifted off their shoulders. 

“This is our 11th title in 12 seasons or about six years,” Whittaker said. “It’s a monkey off our backs, I can only say it has been a friendly rivalry between us. It was back and forth between us and KPMG and it has always been a friendly rivalry over the years. It’s always been about KPMG and our team, going back to our Home Gas days. It should be very interesting next season.”  

For Tower, the championship cements another dominant campaign. The squad went 12-0 during the regular season, the competition’s only unbeaten team, before crushing A.L. Thompson’s Hammers and KPMG in the playoffs. Due to the postseason’s double elimination format, 10-2 KPMG ended up with three shots at Tower as they would win the initial finals contest, 16-8, last week to force Tuesday’s decisive contest. It should be noted that Doug Harrell and his fearless accountants were the reigning two-time champs, having toppled the Titans each of the past two seasons. 

While the top flight is decided, the competition’s other two groups remain in the midst of playoff drama. Alan Markoff and the Coors Light Chuggers booked their place in the B League finals – slated for June 12 – with a 25-10 win over Deloitte. Over in the C League, Benoit Ouellette and the UBS Swingers are in the title game on June 10 after taking out Uniregistry. 

Of the two, Coors Light’s finals berth carries more historical significance. According to league coordinator Alan Markoff, the Chuggers have advanced to the B League finals four of the last five seasons. A victory would give them three titles out of their last four campaigns. 

Markoff, who plays for the Chuggers, went into the detail about the team’s history. 

“After moving from the A League to the B League in the summer of 2011, the Chuggers advanced to the title game in the winter of 2012, only to lose a one-game championship to KPMG A by one run,” Markoff said. “However, Coors Light then went on a roll in the summer of 2012 and the winter of 2013, winning two straight B League championships and 23 straight B League games along the way. We have the oldest team in the league and it seems to take us a while to get our momentum going. But this isn’t our first rodeo.  

“We’re an experienced, playoff-hardened team and once we get our mojo going, we’re difficult to beat.” 

Markoff also noted that of the 16 players on their playoff roster, 10 are older than 40, with four of them older than 50. The players over 50 – Markoff, Wil Pineau, Doug Sell and Pen Reed – played on the same men’s league team in Cayman back in the late 1980s. 

Coors Light cocaptain Mark Wallace joked about the age of his team, saying: “It’s a trap. We might be old, but we’re gold.” 


The Tower Titans emerged A League champions. Back, Smarnell Thomas, Taj Haye, Craig Coe, Nicholas Roberts. Middle, Serena Yates, Peter Whittaker, Ryan Ebanks, Baron Solomon. Front, Carol Britton, Lisbet Ebanks, Joni Wood, Alexis Camacho. Missing: Tony Coe, Dionne Whittaker, Maggie Ebanks, David Taylor, Pierre Foster, Carneth Thomas, Molly-Ann Moore, Ann Marie Douglas.