New chairman for Health Practice Commission

Cabinet has appointed Dr. Ruthlyn Pomares as the new chairman of the Health Practice Commission. 

She succeeds Dr. Steve Tomlinson, who had served as chairman since 2006. 

“It’s an honor to be appointed to the board. And I take my responsibility to the country and the medical community seriously,” said Dr. Pomares. 

“I will work with the medical professionals and the government to continue to uphold our high standards of healthcare,” she added. 

Dr. Tomlinson, founder of the Chrissie Tomlinson Memorial Hospital, said, “It’s been a pleasure serving as chairman, and I think I’ve put the foundation for the health practice commission and I think they should be able to accomplish some great things moving forward and continue the work that has begun.” 

He added, “I am certainly happy for someone to take over now because I have been chairman long enough.” 

Andria Dilbert will serve as deputy chairman of the commission until December 2015. 

Dr. Jemal Khan was appointed as a member and Dawn Lewis and Haroon Pandohie were reappointed as members. Each will serve a two-year term. 

Other board members include Darley Solomon, Dr. Clem von Kirchenheim, David Pellow and Lyria Josephs. 

The Health Practice Commission provides registration and sets standards for all healthcare practitioners in the Cayman Islands. 


Dr. Pomares