Regulators pour out Coors Light

The Home Gas Regulators are the newest champions on the diamond. 

Home Gas defeated the Coors Light Chuggers, 21-13 and 19-16, last Thursday to claim the B League championship. The Field of Dreams served as the venue for the contests, which were part of the Cayman Islands Little League Association’s 2014 Fall Adult Coed Softball League. 

The Regulators, behind a veteran core of Chris Larkin, Charlie O’Neill and Shayne Howe, made timely plays at the plate and in the field to pull off the upset. Coors Light, the reigning champions, kept pace offensively behind hitters like Matt Bone and Will Pineau but were undone by a error-prone defense that missed star infielder Donnie House. It should be noted that Home Gas had to beat the Chuggers twice due to the double elimination format as Coors Light had not lost up to that point in the postseason. 

For Home Gas, their first title as a team came after a 6-5-1 regular season record that placed them third in division one of the B League. Coors Light, 7-4-1, were ahead of them in the standings. 

In addition to Home Gas, the league crowned two other champions. Ryan Ebanks and the Tower Titans retained their A League crown by defeating arch-nemesis KPMG A in two games. Dwayne Lee and the Intertrust Supernovas claimed the C League championship for the first time by beating Bud Light, 12-11. 

Bud Light captain Rohan Marshall said Intertrust were worthy winners. 

“I couldn’t ask for a better team to be playing against in the finals,” Marshall said. “The competition was tough with Intertrust only losing three games in the regular season, we knew they would be tough competition. We kept with them for the full seven innings with us narrowly losing in the end. I would say Bud Light gave Intertrust a run for their money!” 


Ryan Ebanks helped Tower retain their title.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now