BT still President's Cup kings

Bodden Town held their nerve in a tense penalty shootout and edged ahead of Roma United to win the Cayman Islands Football Association President’s Cup.

The final on Wednesday was at the TE McField Annex.

Captain Ramon Sealy made a pair of sublime saves to deny Roma in the penalty shootout which Bodden Town won 3-1 after the game ended 1-1 after regulation.

The previous 120 minutes resembled a heavyweight title fight with both sides trading blows in front of a supportive crowd.

From the opening exchanges fans were treated to a physical affair. Ricoh Brown opened the scoring in the second minute. Given space to roam down the sideline Brown got behind an unsettled Roma defense and hammered his shot past Clifton Ricketts.

The younger, more nimble Bodden Town players dominated the flow against a more physical Roma unit.

After the break Roma returned with renewed purpose and were rewarded in the 74th after controlling much of the action.

Ziecko Herrera hit the target from the left side and capped off his strike with a memorable series of acrobatic flips.

Roma were firmly in the game and battled through extra time, slowly wresting control away from the defending champions.

Roma keeper Ricketts denied Theron Wood a chance to get on the score sheet in extra time with a super save, diving full length to his left to grasp a fierce shot.

The play went back and forth late before referee Chris Stewart made the most controversial call of the match.

Bodden Town’s leading scorer Wood was given a straight red card after showing dissent to a decision by the officials.

However, led by Sealy who made crucial saves for his side the entire match, Bodden Town was able to secure a sensational victory late into the night.