Boundary Commission to hold public meetings

The Electoral Boundary Commission plans to hold a series of public meetings to gather input from the public on proposals to adopt single member constituencies. 

The meetings, which begin on April 21, will be held on all three islands of the Cayman Islands and will address the proposed transition from the current electoral arrangement in which voters elect a varying number of candidates to the Legislative Assembly, depending on the district in which they live, to one in which each voter casts a single vote to elect a single representative in his or her district. 

The chairperson of the commission, U.S. academic Lisa Handley, is urging the public to attend, saying the group is looking for suggestions on where to draw the boundaries, taking into account population, natural boundaries and communities of interest. 

Other members of the commission are local attorneys Adriannie Webb and Steve McField.  

The commission’s remit and scope of work will be available online at, officials said. 

The commissioners will submit their recommendations to the governor by the end of June. Officials expect the new voting system will be in place in time for the 2017 general elections. 

The first of the public meetings will be held at the Ashton Rutty Centre in Cayman Brac at 6:30 p.m., April 21, followed by a meeting on April 22 at the Public Works Department hurricane shelter on Little Cayman.  

On Grand Cayman, the following meetings will be held: East End Civic Centre, 7:30 p.m., April 23; Mary Miller Hall in George Town, 7 p.m., April 27; Sir John A. Cumber Primary School Hall, West Bay, 8 p.m., April 28; Bodden Town Primary School Hall, 7 p.m., April 29; and North Side Civic Centre, 8 p.m., April 30. 


The 2015 Electoral Boundary Commission members, from left, are Adriannie Webb, Lisa Handley and Steve McField. They invite the public to attend meetings to discuss proposed changes to Cayman’s electoral arrangement.