Harvey is Bart's bash champ as Rankine gets trophy won last year

The Bart’s Bash race on Sunday saw the Cayman Islands Sailing Club stage its own race as well as clubs in 61 other countries. 

Bart’s Bash is the world’s largest single-day sailing event. It is run by sailing clubs worldwide on behalf of The Andrew Simpson Sailing Foundation. 

Last year’s inaugural Bart’s Bash event saw more than 700 sailing clubs from over 68 countries take part. Results from Sunday’s Bart’s Bash are still being collated and will be released shortly. 

Mark Macfee presented the Bart’s Bash Annual Trophy to Allena Rankine on Sunday at the Cayman Sailing Club for winning last year’s local Bart’s Bash race. Rankine placed 444th worldwide. 

Last year’s results showed that 30,717 participants raced in the event, underscoring Rankine’s high finish in an optimist dinghy. 

Twenty boats sailed in the Bart’s Bash for Cayman Islands over the weekend, from dinghies to large cruisers. 

Raph Harvey placed first in lasers and Ava Hider took first place in the optimist fleet. Blue Runner, with Bruce Johnson at the helm, came in first for the cruisers, and Just Leaving, with Commodore Mike Farrington, won first place for the J22 sailboats. 

Just Leaving won the J22 Governor’s cup for the sixth year in a row the previous weekend. Matt Diaz and Sam Dawson joined Farrington at the helm. 

Yahoo came second, with newcomer boat Loca Loki placing a well-earned third place. 

The junior elite team sailing Zhik placed fourth. Due to the scoring of one race elimination, Just Leaving had a perfect score of six. 

Deputy Governor Franz Manderson started the Governor’s Race and received a warm welcome from all club members. The next J22 Fleet event is Oct. 18 and will feature the Pink Ladies Helm Race as a fundraiser for the Cayman Islands Breast Cancer foundation. 

Loca Loki leads in one of the J22 races.

Loca Loki leads in one of the J22 races.

Comments are closed.