New board at Cayman Cricket

Cayman Cricket Technical Director Theo Cuffy
Cayman Cricket Technical Director Theo Cuffy will retire in June after 20 years.

Cayman Cricket, the re-branded and incorporated nonprofit company which has replaced the Cayman Islands Cricket Association as the governing body for cricket in the Cayman Islands, hit the refresh button at its annual general meeting at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex on Dec. 15.

President Abali Hoilett, who completed his first year in office, was re-elected as chairman of the board of directors. Also returned were treasurer Robert Cox and secretary Sheila Rankine. They were joined on the board by former long-serving executive member Hector Robinson who, after a four-year break, was elected vice-president. New board members are Ricky Sealy, Jalon Linton, Dave Holness, Ricardo Roach and Ramdeo “Bruce” Jalim.

The AGM and board elections followed the well-attended awards ceremony in November, which featured West Indies Cricket Board President Whycliffe “Dave” Cameron as special guest speaker, and a town hall-style public forum held shortly before the AGM.

President Hoilett, in his report to the AGM, pointed to the significant challenges facing the sport in the Cayman Islands, including the disappointing international performances of the national senior men’s team, reduced participation in the sport at the youth level, and the dramatic reduction in funding for Cayman Cricket from the International Cricket Council.

The president highlighted youth development, increased fundraising, better communication and greater accountability as keys to the revitalization of cricket in the Cayman Islands.

He announced a five-year youth development program, the key features of which are improved organization, increased coaching support and better communication with the schools and parents. The aim is to stimulate increased participation by both girls and boys at all age levels which, ultimately, will provide the impetus for improved senior performances and the increased ICC funding which usually follows, he said.

Technical Director Theo Cuffy, who is an unelected member of the board, will retire at the end of June after serving Cayman Cricket for 20 years. The board will announce its plans at a later date for a suitable recognition of coach Cuffy’s significant contribution to the development of cricket in the Cayman Islands.

Comments are closed.