New anti-corruption commissioners appointed

Four new members of Cayman’s Anti-Corruption Commission were announced Friday, following changes approved to the local Anti-Corruption Law earlier in the year.

The changes approved by the Legislative Assembly in June required the removal of the Cayman Islands police commissioner, auditor general and complaints commissioner from the board and stipulated that no other government workers should be chosen in their place.

The new Commission Chairman is Richard Coles, a former Cayman Islands attorney general who also served as chairman of the fledgling Human Rights Commission.

Other new commission members were named as former Cayman Islands Monetary Authority Chairman Tim Ridley, noted local immigration attorney Sophia Harris and accountant and recent Young Caymanian Leadership Award recipient Kadi Pentney-Merren.

Local businessman Norman Bodden, the only currently appointed commission member, was given an extended two-year term.

Mr. Coles and Mr. Ridley were appointed to two-year terms. Ms. Merren and Ms. Harris were appointed to three-year terms.

The appointments were announced by Cayman Islands Governor Helen Kilpatrick.

“The Anti-Corruption Commission has an exceptionally important role to play in the Cayman Islands’ commitment to combat and deter corruption,” Governor Kilpatrick said. “The members of the [commission] work diligently to enhance and promote the accountability of all public officials.”

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now