The 2019 Government Football League opened Wednesday, 26 June, at Ed Bush Sports Complex, with the Royal Cayman Islands Police Service and Health Services Authority starting their respective campaigns with victories.

In the first game of the double-header, Police held off Cayman Islands Monetary Authority behind a hat-trick from Tevin Yen.

Yen opened the scoring in the 13th minute for the cops but Jason Ebanks brought things level two minutes later. Yen then put RCIPS out front again with a 28th minute strike, just before the close of the first half.

Down a goal, CIMA sought to avoid dropping the points in their opener and Ebanks found the back of the net again in the 57th minute. Yen’s winner came in the 62nd minute, when he caught the goalkeeper poaching outside the 18-yard box, evaded him and expertly placed the ball on target.

It was all one-way traffic in the second fixture of the evening with HSA running all over Cayman Islands Airports Authority. Jevon Taylor scored a pair, with other contributions from Omar Felix, Courtney Maylor and Andre Barrett.

The league is being run by the Department of Sports, and resumes on Wednesday, 3 July, with Customs and Border Control taking on the Department of Environmental Health at 6:30pm. HM Prisons and Computer Services will face each other at 8pm.

There are eight teams taking part in the league: HM Prison, HSA, Customs and Border Control, CIMA, RCIPS, DEH, CIAA, and Computer Services. They will play in a round robin format before the top teams advance to the playoffs. Games will be played Mondays and Wednesdays through 19 Aug.

If you value our service, if you have turned to us in the past few days or weeks for verified, factual updates, if you have watched our live streaming of press conferences or sent an article to a friend... please consider a donation. Quality local journalism was at risk before the coronavirus crisis. It is now deeply threatened. Even a small amount can go a long way to sustaining our mission of informing the public. We need our readers’ financial support now more than ever.