Finalists named for Golden Apple Awards

This year’s Golden Apple Award finalists have been announced, with 12 teachers up for the annual recognition based on nominations from parents, students, graduates, fellow teachers and the public.

For the 2019 awards, 76 people were nominated for excellence in teaching across five categories.

The awards, launched in 2007 by the Chamber of Commerce in partnership with the Ministry of Education, recognises teachers and principals in public and private primary and high schools.

Marjorie Scott has been tapped for the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Chamber president Chris Kirkconnell said of the awards, “[T]he high level of nominations received this year is testament to the impact our teachers have in our community. … The Chamber believes education is one of the most important aspects in shaping the future leaders in Cayman.”

Finalist Clare Thorpe, principal and owner of Island Montessori, said she was “delighted” to be named a finalist in her category. “Since opening Island Montessori in 2017, I have worked hard to assemble a wonderful team of teachers and support staff”, she said.

“This ensures we provide a unique, child-centred environment nurturing and developing the next generation. To be nominated for this award is a huge honour and I am grateful for all the support from our parents and community.”

The 2019 finalists for High School Teacher in a Private School are:

  • Jennifer Artuch, St. Ignatius Catholic School
  • Daniel Baker, Cayman Prep and High School
  • Katie Dilbert, Grace Christian Academy

The finalists for High School Teacher in a Public School are:

  • Kerita Levermore-Stewart, John Gray High School
  • Dee Clark, Cayman Islands Further Education Centre

The finalists for Primary School Teacher in a Private School are:

  • Kelly Cowling, Cayman Prep and High School
  • Allison Copeland, Cayman Academy

    The finalists for Primary School Teacher in a Public School are:

  • Nadesha Edwards-Nyathi, Bodden Town Primary School
  • Erica Powell, Savannah Primary School

The finalists for Principal in a Public or Private School are:

  • Adrian Jones of Layman E. Scott High School
  • Clare Thorpe, Island Montessori

The 2019 Golden Apple Awards will take place on World Teachers Day, 5 Oct. at the Kimpton Seafire Resort.

To buy tickets for the event, go to

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now