Boatswain Bay is best in West

Boatswain Bay and Mt. Pleasant played a fittingly fierce final Sunday to close out the West Bay Recreational Football League season. In the end, a goal scored by Shane Ebanks was all Boatswain Bay needed to conquer Mt. Pleasant. The 1-0 victory was a joyous result for the team and their fans. Sarah Orrett coached the new league champions.

Mt. Pleasant controlled most of the play in the early stages. The game’s first big moment came in the 15th minute when a collision was deemed too brutal by the referee who awarded a penalty kick to Boatswain Bay. But the kick missed to the left and it was still anyone’s game.

The intensity increased as the contest wore on. It was clear that both sides desperately wanted the win and the district-wide bragging rights that would come with it. As tough as the match was, however, it never descended into sloppy affair tainted by poor sportsmanship. This was a credit to the players and the referee.

In the 25th minute, more hard contact put the pressure on Boatswain Bay’s Shane Ebanks as he took a penalty kick awarded by referee. This time Boatswain Bay cashed in on the opportunity and took a 1-0 lead.

Both sides came out firing in the second half. Mt. Pleasant, led by player/coach Barry Martinez, lifted their game even higher in an attempt to equalize. They created a few good scoring opportunities but the Boatswain Bay defense held and the match ended 1-0.

North West Point earned a third-place finish earlier in the afternoon when West Bay Central failed to show.

The West Bay Recreational League was organized by the Sports Ministry.

Comments are closed.