Financial services council established

A Financial Services Council has been set up, the Cabinet press briefing was told.

‘The FSC will assist the government in devising and implementing suitable policies and strategies for dealing with matters of significance as they may relate to the financial services industry,’ Minister Alden McLaughlin said on Friday.

While its main focus would be on the international initiatives, it was expected the FSC could also help in developing policy responses to general issues affecting the sector, he told the briefing.

Mr. McLaughlin said he would chair the council which would include Leader of Government Business Kurt Tibbetts, Financial Secretary Ken Jefferson, Attorney General Sam Bulgin, Deputy Financial Secretary Deborah Drummond and CIMA chairman Tim Ridley.

Six private sector appointees would be Anthony Duckworth, Sheree Ebanks, Sean Flynn, Bryan Hunter, Alasdair Robertson and Jude Scott, he added.

‘I should like to note that the FSC is not intended to replace the general consultation that occurs via the Private Sector Consultative Committee and other channels, but it is designed to be a focused ‘issues workshop’ where important strategic and policy matters can be considered in depth,’ said Mr. McLaughlin.