Prison needs one more win to lock up Division One lead

Division One

By experiencing just one defeat Prison needs only one win to secure an unsurpassable lead in the Money Express Division One Cricket Competition.

They continued to show their dominance when they defeated Esso in a rain affected match on Sunday. Prison batted first and in 19.4 of the 20 over quota was dismissed for 113. Saheed Mohamed defied the unfavourable batting conditions to be the top scorer with 33. Christopher Williams belted a lusty 27 inclusive of 3 sixes and a four and in the context of the game Kevin Basil (11), Oscar Owen and Troy David (10 each) had scores that proved to be worthwhile. Ezra ‘tall pace’ Hewitt (3-21), ‘Ankles’ Williams (2-13), and Wayne Cato(2-0) did the damage for Esso. Playing in these bowler friendly conditions the team to strike the most sixes usually prevails. The fact that Esso had struck a lone six in stark contrast to Prison’s five had put them behind the eighth ball. Not surprisingly they were 10 runs short at the end of their 20 overs. Ronald Ebanks with 3-08 and Saheed Mohamed were both economical and baneful to Esso. Cleve Sailsman notched 42, Tony Higgins made

17 but the pivotal point of Esso’s innings came when six hitter Frankie Hinds was run out for 15. At Smith road, dethroned champions Police regained some lost dignity when they defeated Paramount in another game affected by over night rain. The lawmen batted first and immediately seized the initiative when openers Ricardo Roach (53), and Kirkpatrick Clarke (49) romped to 72 in 7 overs. By the end of the allotted 27 overs police had motored to 199-4. Ryan Bovell was undefeated on 34 and Morrison on 26. Paramount attempting to reach the improbable target was dismissed for 150. Michael Reid mounted a challenge with a futile 51, while David Wilson enjoyed himself in the end with an enterprising 21. Roach and Clarke returned to haunt Paramount with 2-13 and 2-30 respectively.

Division Two

On Saturday at Smith Road C&W Schools secured 2nd position by inflicting an easy 4 wicket win on Caledonian bank as the curtain closed on the Money express Division 2 Competition. The K.O awaits. Caledonian batted first and was all out in the 40th over for 184.Sam Suberan remained consistent to the end by top scoring with 68, Chris Smith made 40 and Dennis Smith got 21. Master Philip Hackett who got the vital wicket of Suberan topped the bowling for C&W Schools with 4-45, Omar Willis and Marc Chin both had figure of 2-29. Schools easily got the runs in the 36th over for the loss of 6 wickets. Ricardo Roach made 77, Omar Willis 24, Master Theo Cuffy was undefeated on 22 and young Ramon Sealy got 20.

2006 Champions Welly’s ICC easily disposed of Winfair in a perfunctory match at JPO. Batting first Kirkpatrick Clarke lead the way for the champs with 53. Other meaningful donations came from David Ross 36 with Gerard Christian and Alan Plowright each making 37. Kernel Coley and Ivan Brown took two wickets apiece for Winfair. Welly’s then dismissed their opponents for 160.

Opening batsman ‘Mango man’ Campbell hit a riotous 32, Lennox Mc Donald made

39 and Kernel Coley got 17. Winfair’s batting was debilitated by Rohan Chambers with 4-40, Stephen Best with 2-32 and Alan Plowright

Comments are closed.