CPA to host UK delegation

Five British MPs will officially visit Grand Cayman for an event-filled week.

Hosted by the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Cayman Islands Branch, the delegation will be led by Lord Davies of Coity (Labour). Accompanying him will be Conservatives’ Greg Knight and Eleanor Laing; Labour’s Eric Martlew and Brian Donohoe; and Helen Haywood, secretary. The MPs arrive Wednesday and leave 1 August.

Their schedule has been organised with input from the visiting MPs by the CPA’s local Executive Committee chaired by the President of the CPA Cayman Islands Branch Edna Moyle, MLA and Speaker of the House.

The MPs’ busy itinerary includes courtesy calls on Acting Governor George McCarthy, Leader of Government Business Kurt Tibbetts, the Speaker of the House, the Leader of the Opposition McKeeva Bush and the Acting Chief Justice.

They will also meet with Cabinet members and all individual ministers; the Public Sector Consultative Committee; all elected members of the Legislative Assembly; the Cayman Islands Financial Services Association; the Chamber of Commerce president and representatives; representatives of the Agriculture, Environmental Health and Tourism departments; top National Hurricane Committee officials; and the heads of the Maritime, Water and Civil Aviation authorities

Visits to Boatswain’s Beach, Pedro Castle, the Botanic Park and East End as well as the Cayman Islands Hospital and the Water Authority’s water and wastewater management plants are also planned.