YCLA broadcast live Saturday night

The 2008 Young Caymanian Leadership Awards will be televised live on Cayman27 tomorrow night at 9.

There will be more than 500 of Cayman’s top business and community leaders in attendance for the black-tie gala and television show at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman.

YCLA finalists

The finalists for the 2008 YCLA from left are Stephen Ryan, Donald Spence, Dorothy Scott, Susan Barnes Pereira and Winston Connolly will be honoured on Saturday during live broadcast on Cayman27 starting at 9pm.
Photo: www.davidwolfephotography.com

‘The focus is celebrating leadership and Daring to Dream, which is our theme for the night. We are proud that so many community leaders are showing their dedicated support,’ said Melissa Wolfe, foundation coordinator. ‘Viewers that tune in will be presented a lively and youthful programme that has been produced by Cayman27. The 2008 YCLA broadcast has a theme and energy that will appeal to all ages.’

The 90-minute broadcast will feature videos of the five finalists for the YCLA: Winston Connolly, Susan Barnes Pereira, Stephen Ryan, Dorothy Scott and Donald Spence, states a press release. In addition, a Year in Review with Canover Watson will show viewers how busy last year’s recipient of the YCLA has been, having spoken to more than 2,000 youth primarily between the ages of 10-18.

American Presidential hopeful Mike Huckabee, will present the keynote address.

The growing popularity of the annual black-tie event has resulted in a sell-out situation, which gets earlier and earlier every year.

‘Corporate supporters are already reserving their participation for the 2009 YCLA,’ said Mrs. Wolfe. ‘This shows that our community recognises the need to identify, honour and reward young Caymanians that can be showcased and become effective role models.’

The five finalists that will be honoured Saturday night have already proven to be exemplary role models for the younger generation. Earlier this week, they showed initiative by joining forces with 2007 recipient, Canover Watson, to visit John Grey High School and speak to the youth on the importance of making good choices.

‘Congratulations Dorothy, Susan, Donald, Stephen and Winston. Our young people are very blessed to have such an amazing group of role models. Thank you for your undying commitment to give back our youth. You truly inspire me,’ said Mr. Watson.

The concept of the Young Caymanian Leadership Awards was launched in 1999 by the Young Caymanian Leaders Foundation. The YCLA first award show was presented live to the community early in 2000.

Previous recipients of the YCLA include Olivaire Watler in 2000, Dax Foster in 2001, Sara Collins in 2002, Steve Blair in 2003, Cindy Scotland in 2004, Jonathan Tibbetts in 2006 and Mr. Watson in 2007.

The Honorary Board of the YCLA includes some of Cayman’s top business and community leaders, including Tim Adam, Bobby Bodden, Heather Bodden, Naul Bodden, Dax Foster, Shane Foster, Jackie Hansen, Rod Hansen, Roy McTaggart, Conor O’Dea, Karin Thompson, James Tibbetts, Susan A. Olde, OBE, Andreas Ugland and Olivaire Watler.

One of the key goals of the foundation is assisting the annual recipient of the YCLA to present their message of leadership to the younger generation.

For more information on the Young Caymanian Leadership Awards call Mrs. Wolfe at 916-8335 or email [email protected]