Time Attack gears up for double

Cayman may officially be without a track at present but racing continues to live on there.

Next month sees adrenaline junkies and car enthusiasts get two chances to launch their assault on the clock in Time Attack 8 and 9.

The two dexterity races are slated to take place the first weekend and the last weekend of August at Breakers Speedway.

The track, which was officially closed by owner Robert Campbell a little over two months ago, hosted dexterity racing in early June.

According to Cayman Motorsports Association President Bobby Hulse, the response from that session was positive. The fans seemingly liked the change in venue and the competitors liked the idea of seeing the entire course.

Though the venue for dexterity racing has presently shifted, its timing remains the same.

Drivers can expect to put their suspensions to work in pursuit of prizes and bragging rights from 6pm at the track.

As usual technical inspection will be the night before each race. The mandatory procedure is slated to take place at 6pm on July 31 and on August 28th at Automotive Art, one of the consistent sponsors for racing in Cayman.

The inspection takes stock of a car’s suspension set-up and its overall road-worthiness and ensures there is ample safety equipment on-hand.

It is to be noted that Time Attack 8 was scheduled to go off this weekend. However, as the majority of race officials are expected to be off-island, the race was pushed back to Saturday August 1.

In fact it has been some time since Cayman has seen tire-ripping action. The last dexterity race was June 27.

Keith P. Tibbetts III had the fastest time of the event with a 63.7s run. He won the All-Wheel Drive class and finished in third place overall in his Valvoline Subaru Impreza Sti.

The AWD class was unusually thin as only two other competitors came out. Sean O’Neil placed second in his Impreza Sti while Michael Weatherford came third in the Stingray Batteries Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution III.

O’Neil also placed second overall with a time of 72.6s in the championship run.

Bobby Hulse stepped up big as he won the event and the Unlimited division. Behind the wheel of his blacked-out Altezza, Hulse posted times of 65.2s and 70.7s to gain major props.

Behind Hulse in his division were Gary Huggins (at 65.5s) and John Nutter.

The most popular class on the night was the rear Wheel Drive division. John Godfrey emerged on top in his Toyota Supra with a time of 67.2s.

The other competitors, in the order in which they finished, were: Andy Bodden, Ian Tibbetts, Karyn Bodden, Hemant Balgobin, Ian Charlery and Richard Machado.

The Front Wheel Drive saw three competitors and smooth and steady Gary Bromfield emerged on top. Bromfield ran his red Acura Integra to a time of 67.8s.

Ajoni Ambersley and Marcus Huggins were seconds behind Bromfield.

As of June the overall points standings see Wayne Kirkconnell on top of the championship round with Gary Huggins second and Andy Bodden third.

Keith Tibbetts is well out in front of the AWD class (560 points) with Michael Weatherford (380 points) second and Sean O’Neil (260 points) third.

Ian Charlery (440) leads the RWD class with Peter Jurgens (300) and Hemant Balgobin (150) on his tail.

The FWD class sees Roje Williams (560) on top with Gary Bromfield (370) and Marcus Huggins (270) in line after him.

Gary Huggins is in first place in the Unlimited class with 540 points. Wayne Kirkconnell (400) is second and Andy Bodden (250) third.

Comments are closed.