Youth Award winner named

Bodden of West Bay became the first recipient of The Yentel McGaw Youth
Community Excellence Award last Saturday.

 The five finalists for the award were Martina
Bodden, nominated by The West Community Council; Leonardo Borsetto, nominated
by Frank Sound Church of God Youth Group; Gabriela Mendoza-Hydes, nominated by
The Common Wealth Youth Parliament; Kiana Rankin, nominated by John Gray High
School and Krista Samuels, nominated by The Leo’s Club of Grand Cayman.

finalists were honoured and the winner was announced at the YCEA Rising Stars
awards luncheon at the Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort.

to a YCEA release, the award aims to recognise outstanding young people in the
Cayman Islands who have demonstrated an interest in their country, bring
positive motivation to others and make significant contributions to the
betterment of themselves and their country through voluntary community service.

Harris, the host of Youth Flex, a local radio talk show for young people by
young people, was the Master of Ceremonies for the well-attended awards

advisory added that Yentel McGaw, the award’s namesake and founder, welcomed attendees
and encouraged the finalists to continue their service to the community.

 The event’s keynote speaker was the Managing
Director of the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority, Mrs. Cindy Scotland. She emphasised
the importance and value of giving of yourself to others and your country, and praised
Yentel McGaw for her vision in making a difference to the youth.

Borsetto was awarded $250, which was donated by the Minister of Health
Environment, Youth, Sports & Culture Mark Scotland. Mr. Borsetto was
presented with the YCEA Special Award, which recognised him as a person to look
out for as a leader.

Mendoza-Hydes was awarded $500, which was donated by First Financial Group, as
first runner-up for the YCEA. It was announced that Miss Mendoza-Hydes would
fill-in for the YCEA winner if she was unable to attend functions.

Bodden received $1,000, donated by YCEA life silver sponsor MLA Dwayne Seymour.
She also received a four-year scholarship to the University College of the Cayman
Islands and an overseas university of her choice. The award was presented by the
Education Minister, Mr. Rolston Anglin, and was sponsored by the Ministry of
Education, Training and Employment.

the finalists received a commemorative trophy and a gift package from LIME,
which included an LG mobile phone handset.

Anglin said: “I am happy to see this programme come to fruition as there are
very few forums in which the positive impact of our teenagers is highlighted. I
believe that the benefits of this kind of programme are plentiful. I commend
Miss Yentel McGaw-Founder, Miss Judyfaye McGaw Chairman, Mrs. Pearlina
McGaw-Lumsden and Mr. James Myles of the YCEA committee for recognising this
need and I am hopeful that it continues to grow and become a key programme in
our community.”

her acceptance speech, Miss Bodden said: “I am very proud to be the first
recipient of The Yentel McGaw Youth Community Excellence Award 09/10 and
thankful to everyone who has supported me. I am eager for other young people to
follow the example that we, the finalists, have shown and hope that my peers
aspire to make a positive difference in our Cayman Islands.”


Yentel McGaw founder of The Yentel McGaw Youth Community Excellence Award, from left, winner of the 09/10 award Martina Bodden and MLA Mr. Dwayne Seymour.

Comments are closed.