Uniformed services veterans honoured

Governor honours 54 long service awardees

The governor has presented awards
to several long-serving officers in Cayman’s uniformed services.

Duncan Taylor gave medals and
clasps, as well as official tributes, to dozens of uniformed officers at
Government House during the Colonial Long Service Awards ceremony.

Officers from the Royal Cayman
Islands Police, the Cayman Islands Fire Service, the Prison Service, as well as
the Special Constabulary, received awards.

The longest serving of the 54
awardees were Deputy Chief Fire Officer Doorley McLaughlin and Senior Constable
Gilbert McLaughlin, both of whom has served for more than 30 years.

Other officers received awards
marking the 25th and 18th milestone years of service to Cayman.

The recipients of the Colonial Fire
Brigade’s Long Service Medals were 
Deputy Chief Fire Officer Doorley McLaughlin who received the 30-Year
Clasp; Divisional Officer Ronnie Dixon; Station Officer Mark Hydes; and
Sub-Officer Colbert Miller, who each received the 25-Year Clasp; and
Sub-Officer Ernest Barnes; Leading Fire Officer James Bodden; Fire Officer
James Christian; Leading Fire Officer Elton Martin; Fire Officer Richard
Pascal; Senior Fleet Technical Warren Scott; Fire Officer Robert Terc; Fire Officer
Robin Walton; and Leading Fire Officer Kirk Watson, who all received the
18-Year Clasp.

Police Senor Constable Gilbert
McLaughlin earned the Colonial Police Long Service 30-Year Clasp.

The 25-Year Clasp was presented to
Senior Constable Howard Campbell; Sergeant Betty Ann Ebanks; Senior Constable
Colin Pryce; Senior Constable Mary Lee Reece; Senior Constable Osbert Smith and
Accident Re-constructionist Vincent Walters.

The governor also presented 18-Year
Medals to Senior Constable Hong Borden; Detective Inspector Angela
Campbell-McLean; Inspector Bennard Ebanks; Senior Constable Fran General;
Inspector Richard Harford; Senior Constable Charmane Huntley; Senior Constable
Mark Luke; Constable Treva McIntosh; Inspector Dane Pinnock; Chief Inspector
Robert Scotland; Sergeant Dausea Scott and Sergeant Orville Williams.

The Colonial Prison Long Service
Medal for 25 years of service was presented to Prison Officer Richard Connolly;
Lead Officer Harry Elliott; Lead Officer Carnel Simpson and Prison Officer
Richard Wilson, while the 18-Year Medal was presented to Director of Prisons
Dwight Scott; Prison Officer Oscar Owens and Lead Officer Carlton Montaque.

The RCIPS’ Special Constables were
also recognised. The Colonial Special Constabulary Medal was presented to:
Special Constable Ricky Bent; Special Constable Nadine Crooks; Commandant
Richard Harris; and Assistant Commandant Carolyn Parker.

Colonial Special Constabulary
Clasps were also presented to: Special Constable Marjorie Bodden; Special Constable
Ivan Burgess; Special Sergeant Arthle Evans; Deputy Commandant Christopher
Evans; Special Constable Robert Henning; Special Constable Linda McField; Special
Constable Errol McLaughlin; Special Constable Glenn McLean; Special Constable
Timothy Solomon and Special Constable Peter Wight.


Governor Duncan Taylor, in centre, and Chief Fire Officer Dennom Bodden, on far right, with some long-serving officers.
Photo: Submitted

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now