Golden Apple awards attract 93

Ninety-three educators have been
nominated for the Golden Apple Awards.

They were nominated by students,
parents and teacher colleagues.

All the nominations will be
reviewed and scored by a panel of independent judges and three nominees from
each category will be selected to move on to the interview stage by the selection
panel. Scores will be tabulated by KPMG.

The 4th Golden Apple Awards will take
place at The Harquail Theatre on Saturday, 29 May, and comprise of a champagne reception
at 6pm, pre-award ceremony at 7pm and the awards show at 8pm. This black tie
event is televised live and sponsored by Cayman Free Press, Maples, Dart, KMPG,
(Cayman) Ltd. Walkers, and NCB Cayman Ltd. but there are more sponsor
opportunities available. The public is invited to support Cayman’s educators by
purchasing their tickets to attend from Joanne Diaz-Berry at 949-8090 (ext.
123) or by email to [email protected] Tickets cost $100 each
and all proceeds go back into Chamber educational programmes.

There are seven categories for
nomination: Primary School Teacher in a Public School, Primary School Teacher
in a Private School, Middle School Teacher in a Public School, Middle School
Teacher in a Private School, High School Teacher in a Public School, High
School Teacher in a Private School, Principal in a Public or Private School.
The following are the named nominees for the 2010 Chamber of Commerce Golden
Apple Awards:


First Baptist Christian School

Barb Wilson

Brent Durksen

Karen Cillers

Grace Christian Academy

    Claire Upton

   Audry Leahong

Kima Cunningham Hemmings

Claudia Martinez

Katherine Deane

Tracey Hinds

David Bushell

Bernice Scott


Truth for Youth School

Imogene Dunbar

Wesleyan Christian Academy

Imogene Samms

Jean Blake

Ronald Profitt

Celia Furbur

Rebecca Proffitt

Cayman Prep and High

Nicola Sowerby

Cayman Academy

Melbourne Williams

Tahshiek Francis

Cereta McDonald

Triple C School

Sonia Gordon

Cristin Newhall

Martha Minton

Vance Golding-South

Elizabeth Appleby

Robert Lankford

Kathleen Weiner

St. Ignatius Catholic School

Corinna Pilgrim

Vivienne Campbell

Lache Francke


Leading Edge High School – GH

Ann Fennelly

Heritage High School – GH Campus

Scott Swing

Steven Clark

Tamika Hutchinson

Nicholas Dereza

New Horizons High School – GH

Sherene Spencer

Iris Saunders

Georgia Harding

Cecile Miller – White

Patrice Hanson

Red Bay Primary School

Patricia Bent

Janay Goff

Dawn Largie

Layla Scott

Bodden Town Primary School

Cetonya Cacho

East End Primary School

Elvie Clarke

Lorna Wilson

Bernadine Mills

North Side Primary School

Eileen Wright

John A. Cumber Primary School

Harcourt Wason

 Delbert Griffith

Stephen Coles

Hyacinth Miller

Annette Vaughan

Joseph Wallace

Rhuel Smith

John Gray High School

Kilpatrick Clarke

Tanya Chung-Harris

Teresa Edie

Antoinette Parris-Hoyte

Heverly Smith

Timothy Harris

Barrington Griffiths

Hurlene Grey

Elaine King

Steve Morris

Claire Harbron

Cynthia Martin

Gavin Robinson

David Conolly

Charlene Jarrett

Godfrey Williams

Ruth Gooden

John Shilito

Lighthouse School

Chancilla Ali

Penny McDowall

Alternative Education Centre

Leslie Williams

Pace High School

Marshalee Allan

Michael Lavin

Wendy Cumberbatch

Denise Ashby


Prospect Primary

Ceronne Glasgow

Charmaine Bravo

 Iona Hardware

Jesse Dickson

Joy Rose Frater

Marcia Oxilly

Jacqueline Ferguson

Rowena McEarchron-Jackson

Suzette Watler

Shervette Lalor

Yvonne Lawe Gonzales


The third Chamber of Commerce Golden Apple Awards recipients from last year are pictured with some of the presenters at the awards ceremony at the Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman. They are, back row from left, Stuart Bostock, Dale Crowely, Anthony Kaburu, David Toney and Education Minister Rolston Anglin. Winners are, front row from left, Leonora Mendoza-Hydes, Bernice Scott, Catherine Eugene, Marjorie Ebanks, Janet Harris and Margaret Juman. This year’s award ceremony will be held 29 May.
Photo: File


  1. Until we tackle our shocking and shameful 50% illiteracy rate we should suspend such self serving shows. If these 93 educators really want to make a difference, they should name and shame the politicians who allow the bad apples to remain due to only long service instead of results. We are the laughing stock of the world for public education with such a tiny population….it has been covered up for too long!

Comments are closed.