Sharks power always too much

Hammerheads Lady Sharks are the
deserved new champions of ladies flag football for 2010. They were beaten
finalists last year against Walkers Wonders but went one better this time.

The Lady Sharks breezed through the
competition this season in the Domino’s Ladies Division of the Cayman Island’s
Flag Football Association winning the regular season championship as well as
the playoff championship. Quite an accomplishment but what was really amazing
was the manner in which they did it.

They pretty much handled the
competition with ease this season. Saturday was no exception. Lone Star kept
the game close in the first half but could not contain the explosive
Hammerheads offense and the Lady Sharks cruised to a 38-20 victory.

Bobeth O’Garro once again led the
way for Hammerheads throwing four touchdown passes and rushing for another.

O’Garro was 16 of 24 passing with
one interception and also contributed three tackles to the defensive side.
Courtisha Ebanks caught three of the touchdown tosses while Scimone Campbell
had the other. Campbell led her defense with five tackles. Keisha Anglin
chipped in with three tackles as well.

For Lone Star who played catch up
most of the game, Ali Amos led the way going 19 of 39 passing with three
touchdown tosses. Keisha Solomon had two of the touchdown catches while
Michelle McTaggart caught the other. Kirsten Sullivan–Grell led the defence
with seven tackles while Solomon helped out with four. Wanda Brenton chipped in
with three tackles and an interception.

The Jager Monsters made a game of
it in the first half but were trapped in their end zone for a safety on the
first series of the second half and Hammerheads scored on the ensuing drive to
widen the margin. The Monsters played hard all the way but against the Lady
Sharks they needed a perfect game and they came up short of that. The Jager
Monsters expect the nucleus of their squad to return next season so the future
looks good.


At a reception at Dog House after
the championship games the league announced their award winners:

Quarterback of the Year – Ali Amos
Lone Star Jager Monsters

Receiver of the Year- Shamar Ennis
Chiro Spa/Isatou Sey Walkers Wonders

Defender of the Year- Scimone
Campbell Hammerhead Lady Sharks

Rusher of the Year – Delicia Ebanks
Ace Paints and Decor

Rookie of the Year –Shinette Rhoden
Appleby Avengerz

Most Valuable Player – Bobeth
O’Garro Hammerhead Lady Sharks

Comments are closed.