Gayle: I’ll tell you why I didn’t sign

Chris Gayle said he was not
surprised about the West Indies Cricket Board decision to axe him as captain,
as he knew that once he had not signed the board’s retainer contract it was a
distinct possibility.

The board made the announcement on
Sunday that Windward Islands all-rounder, Darren Sammy would replace him as captain.
Gayle said he did not sign the WICB’s retainer contract for several reasons,
some of which he plans to make public after the ongoing WICB Regional 50-Over

Jamaican Brendan Nash is the new
vice-captain, replacing Dwayne Bravo who stays in the squad. Gayle has kept his
spot in the squad for the three-Test tour of Sri Lanka in November.

Sammy, 26, has been appointed
captain until at least the end of next summer’s Digicel Home Series. “They
notified me about a week ago that I was not going to be captain and when the
announcement was made public I wasn’t too surprised,” Gayle said. “It was a
situation whereby not signing a retainer contract, I knew this would have
happened. But there are a lot reasons why I didn’t sign the contract, reasons I
wish not to go into at this moment.

However, he said he was still
interested in leading the regional team, but congratulated Sammy on his

Gayle said: “I was looking towards
next year’s World Cup, after which I would have given up the captaincy. But
what has happened has already happened and we just have to move on as in life
nothing is guaranteed. I congratulate Darren Sammy and hopefully he will put
his best foot forward as we try to improve our world ranking.

“The experience was great, I can’t
complain one bit as it has done a world of good for me individually throughout
my career. It was an honour and privilege to be the captain and now that I am
back as a regular player, the team will have my support in whatever areas they
may deem necessary,” said the 31-year-old Gayle, who had been captaining the
team since 2007.

Under his leadership, the West
Indies won only three of 20 Tests, drew eight and lost nine times. The team won
23 of 53 one-day internationals and seven of 17 Twenty20s with Gayle at the

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy
(capt), Brendan Nash (vice-captain), Chris Gayle, Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh
(wk), Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Nelon
Pascal, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Devon
Thomas (wk).

Comments are closed.