Sarwan is re-called

West Indies have recalled batsman
Ramnaresh Sarwan for the 2011 World Cup, after he had been left out of the
national team’s rain-marred tour of Sri Lanka last year.

Sarwan last represented West Indies
in the one day international series at home against South Africa in May and
June last year and was subsequently dropped due to fitness issues and
indifferent form on the domestic circuit.

But his exclusion led to a storm of
controversy. Sarwan admitted that his form was not great and he had fitness
issues but felt he still deserved to be in the squad. Ultimately, the board’s
selectors came to their senses.

The World Cup team will be led by
Darren Sammy and also includes fast-bowling allrounder Andre Russell, who is
yet to make his ODI debut.

Sammy took over from Chris Gayle
last year.

Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron
Pollard, three players who turned down contracts with the West Indies Cricket
Board, all feature in the squad following their participation in the WICB
one-day tournament last year.

Nikita Miller and Sulieman Benn are
the two specialist spinners, both left-arm orthodox, while Russell, Kemar Roach
and Ravi Rampaul make up the pace options.

Carlton Baugh was preferred over
Denesh Ramdin as wicketkeeper. Baugh has not played an ODI for West Indies
since November 2008, but impressed with a half-century in the second Test in
Sri Lanka.

Sarwan hasn’t played Tests in more
than a year, and was not offered a WICB contract last year. In the WICB one-day
tournament, he averaged 21.33 in three games with one-half-century for Guyana
and his team was knocked out in the league stage.

However, he has an excellent ODI
record in India, where West Indies play five of their six group games. He has
played 15 matches there with an average of 57.30 and five half-centuries.

In the lead-up to the tournament,
West Indies play three ODIs in Sri Lanka – a series rescheduled after the
one-day leg of the December series was cancelled due to excessive rain.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy
(capt), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Ramnaresh
Sarwan, Devon Smith, Sulieman Benn, Nikita Miller, Carlton Baugh (wk), Andre
Rusell, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Adrian Barath.