New young leader 
to be named tonight

Tonight, Friday, 6 May, before a live and television audience, five young community leaders will find out which of them is the 2011 recipient of the Young Caymanian Leadership Award.

The finalists are Richard Christian, Ventisha Conolly, Natalie Urquhart, Chantal Whittaker and Shari Whittaker, representing Bodden Town, Cayman Brac, George Town and two from North Side, respectively.

Professionally, they contribute to a variety of industries, including banking, education, arts and culture, legal and banking.

This year’s theme is Family: Building the Foundation. Keynote speakers at the awards ceremony will be Mark and Susan Merrill of Family First, a US-based organisation with a mission to prioritise families in people’s lives.

The Young Caymanian Leadership Awards have been held since 2000. Past recipients include Olivaire Watler, Dax Foster, Sara Collins, Steve Blair, Cindy Scotland, Elroy Bryan and Collin Anglin, among others.

The Young Caymanian Leadership Foundation created the Awards programme to identify and establish role models for the youth of Cayman. The programme provides a platform designed to inspire, motivate and empower young people to achieve their best.