National sport honours its best

The 2010-211 Cayman Islands Football Association awards ceremony recently held at the Marriott hotel was a grand affair.

Elite SC received the 2010-2011 Premier League trophy as well as medals for all the team-members. The Foster’s Division One League trophy went to Cayman Athletic. Women United received a similar trophy for the Women’s League, Scholars International got the Under-21 Football Association Cup trophy, Bodden Town FC received the U21 Men’s League trophy and the U17 League trophy.

Future SC received the U17 Girl’s title, Cayman Athletic received the U15 Boys FA Cup and League trophy while Academy SC walked away with the U13 Boy’s FA Cup and League trophy.

Dwayne “Gaza” Wright of Elite SC was among the top awardees receiving the Cayman Premier League Golden Boot award. Similar props went to Anthony Prynn of Sunset FC for the Foster’s Division One League, Shanelle Frederick of Women United for the Women’s League and Mark Ebanks of Scholars International for the U21 league. Karl Solomon of Bodden Town FC for the Admiral U17 Boys Youth League also nabbed kudos while Nicole Whittaker and Erin Logan both of Future SC shared the award for the U17 Girls. Other winners were Joshewa Frederick of Cayman Athletic in the U15 Boys league and Ezra Bodden of Bodden Town FC for the U13 league.

Carson Fagan of East End United received Player of the Year for the Cayman Premier League. Other players receiving similar awards were Alfredo Challenger of Latinos FC in division one, Marissa McLaughlin of Elite SC for the women, Dan Kelly of Scholars International and Mathew Suberan of Cayman Athletic for the U17 league, Future SC’s Janel Ebanks for the girls U17, Jonathan Anglin of Elite SC in the U15 and Sebastian Martinez of Academy SC for the boys U13 league.

Defender of the year went to Dion Brandon of Future SC in the Premier League, Tom Elliot of Sunset FC for division one, Casandra Bodden of Sunset for the women, Craig Bodden of Bodden Town FC for U21, Dimitri Chambers of Elite SC for U17, Tatiana Harris of Bodden Town FC for U17 girls, Roshane Anderson of Cayman Athletic for U15 boys and Cameron d’ Hue of Future SC for U13 boys.

In the Goal-Keeper of the Year awards category, Miguel Pitta of George Town SC walked away with that title for the Premier League. Joining him were Alexis Reve of Latinos FC in division one, Kimberly Pitta (Miguel’s sister) of Women’s United for the women, Shakur Welcome of Cayman Athletic in the U21, Danner Nelson of Elite SC in the U17, Kendra Rankin of Future SC in the U17 girls, Garfield Green of Elite SC in the U15 and Matthew Guitard of Academy SC in the U13 league.

Coach of the Year went to Gregory Ebanks of Elite Sports Club in the premier league. Ernie Seymour of Cayman Athletic received similar kudos for his work in division one and the U15 league. Other winners were women’s coach Stephen Petgrave of Women’s United, Elbert McLean of Bodden Town for the U21 and U17, Olsen Bush of Future SC for the U17 girls and Virgil Seymour of Academy SC for the U13.

Receiving Fair Play awards were Seven Mile Beach SC for U15, Bodden Town FC and Elite SC for U17 Girls, Tigers FC for U17 Boys, Roma United for U21, Future SC for women, Elite SC for division one and Future SC for the Premier League.

This ceremony marks the end of the 2010-2011season. The start of the 2011-2012 season is scheduled for 11 September in the form of the Charity Shield game between Elite and George Town SC.

Comments are closed.