Top ladies clash for flag props

Fierce flag football action was the scene at the Camana Bay Field last Saturday as the playoffs began for the Dart Women’s League organized by the Grand Cayman Flag Football Association.

The Hammerheads Lady Sharks secured their spot in the championship game this Saturday after shutting down the Lone Star Jager Monsters 24-0. The Lady Sharks will be battling the Domino’s Pizza Wolverines, who barely defeated the Androgroup Killa-Panthers 6-0.

The last time the Lady Sharks met the Monsters, the game was full of interceptions and penalties and ended in a tie. This time, the Lady Sharks stayed focused as quarterback Bobeth O’Garro had a near perfect game, as she completed fourteen out of eighteen passes, including three touchdown throws. O’Garro also used her speed and shifty hips to run the ball into the end-zone, coming up with a touchdown.

Leading on offence for the Hammerheads Lady Sharks was Scimone Campbell, who had five receptions, including one for a touchdown. The ball was spread among the players as Lilia Conolly, Sophia Foster and Maggie Ebanks each had two receptions. One of those catches for Ebanks was in the end-zone, adding to the team’s leading score. Serena Yates, Katherine Maw and Courtisha Ebanks each had one reception. Ebanks’ brief moment on offence brought in the third touchdown catch in the end-zone.

The Lady Sharks weren’t stressed as the Monsters didn’t complete many catches. Scimone Campbell, Hong Nguyen and Maggie Ebanks each had one tackle. Serena Yates sacked the quarterback twice and Katherine Maw and Nguyen also contributed with one sack each.

For the Lone Star Jager Monsters, dropped and misjudged passes dampened their usual aggressive spirit. Quarterback Michelle McTaggart didn’t have the same finesse as last week, completing only four of nine passes to receivers like Melanie Lewis. Erica Bosch-Bone also stepped in for one failed pass attempt.

In the second game, Domino’s Pizza Wolverines QB Antoinette Lewis had trouble meeting her receivers as she completed just 12 of 27 passes, including one for a touchdown.

Enjoying her best game yet was Schmarrah McCarthy, who led the offence with five receptions, including a tough catch in the end-zone which clinched the win for the Wolverines. Shamar Ennis had another great game with four receptions while Jahzenia Thomas, Zoenief Walker and Benecia Thompson added to the offence with one reception each. Penalties stopped the Wolverines from some long plays, hindering the team’s ability to progress down the field.

The Wolverines had a better time on defence, with Shinette Rhoden leading her team for the second week in a row with six tackles. Alexandria Saintvil and Agueda Broderick also contributed with three tackles each. Jahzenia Thomas came up with one tackle and a sack while Broderick also slipped between the offensive linemen to sack the quarterback once. Dionne Whittaker had two tackles and Eleanor Berry also came through with an interception.

For the Androgroup Killa-Panthers, quarterback duties were shared between Christina Pineda and Lisa Hill-Malice. Pineda completed seven out of 14 passes, with one interception thrown. Malice fared a bit better with eight out of 12 passes completed. Both quarterbacks shared the ball around, keeping the offence unpredictable.

Leading the Killa-Panthers’ offensive charge for the first time this season was Jennifer Allen with four receptions. Following Allen was Lisa Hill-Malice, with three receptions. Tonia Ebanks, Heather Roffey and Christina Pineda each had two receptions while Caron Murphy had one. Many dropped balls and off-target routes were the cause of the Killa-Panthers’ unsuccessful offence.

On defence, the Androgroup Killa-Panthers played a very tight game. Making most of the tackles was Gillian Roffey, who led with five. She was followed by her sister, Heather Roffey, who added two tackles to energize her team-mates. Becky Coe came up with one tackle. Natalee Dyke, Denise Delpesh and Stephanie Watler found the gaps in the Wolverines’ offensive linemen as they each sacked the quarterback one time.

Looking ahead, the championship game will be played this Saturday, 1 October. Playing for third place is the Androgroup Killa-Panthers and the Lone Star Jager Monsters at 10am. Vying for the Dart Cup, the coveted first place trophy, at 11am are reigning champs the Hammerheads Lady Sharks and the Domino’s Pizza Wolverines.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now