Tigers hurt by Zach’s big knock

Zachary McLaughlin scored the first Division 1 century of the local season as Police bounced back from a defeat last week to a comprehensive victory against Esso Tigers.

It is early in the season but Darren Cato, Omar Willis, Kervin Ebanks, Marlon Bryan and now McLaughlin have joined the growing band of young Caymanians who are establishing themselves as the league’s best. There is an old saying that hard work pays off in the long run. No one better emphasizes that perseverance more than mcLaughlin who stroked 6 fours and 4 sixes in achieving this milestone.

Batting first Police scored 226 for 3. McLaughlin’s 102 not out was assisted by Pearson Best 46n.o and Abali Hoilett 36. A fantastic spell of medium fast bowling from Anil Jugbir 6 wickets for 35 runs reduced Esso Tigers to 182 with only Corey Cato 43n.o offering any resistance. Police won by 44 runs.

At Smith Road oval, Prison totalled 171 for 8 with Steve Gordon 80 and Ronald Ebanks 55 and held their nerves to defeat Greenies 1 by 4 runs.

Division 2 action saw a devastating spell of spin bowling from Anthony Higgins 6 wickets for 21 runs followed by another excellent captain’s innings from Omar Willis 64n.o which lead Esso Cubs to victory against Greenies Too by 5 wickets. Darren Cato continued his good form with 38.

At the Jimmy Powell Oval, Paramount’s Victor Campbell entertained the small group of spectators in scoring 69n.o as his team rolled over Chillies by 6 wickets.

The local season takes a short break as cricket welcomes women’s teams from USA, Canada, Bermuda, Argentina and Brazil to participate in the Pepsi International Cricket Council Americas Women T20 championships next week.

Joining them will be the first Cayman Islands women’s team lead by Molly-Ann Moore. Matches will be played from Monday to Saturday of next week at Jimmy Powell Oval and Smith Road Oval. Well worth coming out to support.

Comments are closed.